Vegan rice noodles with dandelion and peanut sauce

in OCD4 years ago

DSC_8538.jpg
I had some dandelion left over from the other day. I guess there's no such thing as leftover when it is just everywhere in spring and summer. When it's gone you just pick more.

My last post was dandelion and quinoa. This time I made rice noodles with dandelion and peanut sauce.

You may be saying, "what the heck?" In Asian stores I see all kinds of leafy greens that I don't know what they're used for. In winter when I was in Asia I saw all kinds of greens I've never seen before. When I was in Bali I picked up some random greens and just cooked them with things not knowing what they were.

Since dandelion is indeed edible but generally unpopular because of it's bitterness, I will start using it again this spring. I need to think about wild foods with the circumstances of the world. I don't know if we'll end up doing this all the time with the worlds economy destroyed and millions of people out of work including myself. I'm in the city and can't leave but as long as there is dandelion, there is food. Yes I would always prefer broccoli and arugula but once I start eating bitter greens I start craving it.

DSC_8399.jpg

Make sure you wash them well in water and vinegar. Vinegar is a great way to wash all vegetables and fruits. It's inexpensive and it's safe.

I made the peanut sauce in the blender.

  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup water
  • juice of one lime
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro
  • 2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
  • 3 dates or 1 tablespoon sweetener(maple syrup,agave nectar, sugar)

I sauteed some cauliflower peanuts and onion in a pan coated with sesame oil than added the 4 cups of dandelion and approximately 2 cups peanut sauce.
DSC_8518.jpg

The cauliflower was the only thing I had left in the fridge for vegetables. I need to go to the supermarket but I keep putting it off because I dread standing in line spaced apart, then being told to wash my hands. I never thought this day would come when an eighteen year old kid would tell adults to wash their hands and follow the arrows. It really sticks a dagger in my soul. I have to just smile and say "yes of course thank you".

DSC_8521.jpg

The rice noodles were precooked and cooled. I cook rice noodles by boiling water then soaking the noodles for 4 or 5 minutes off the burner, Take them out before they are done. They can bend but they are not soft. Rinse them under cold water and set aside. Some people may do it differently. Perhaps they could just sit in cold water longer. I like to rush things.

DSC_8500.jpg
In restaurants the noodles are often fried in oil but I was avoiding the extra oil so I just added the noodles and carefully mixed everything together.

DSC_8534.jpg

Fortunately I do not have a peanut allergy but if you do then you could substitute the peanuts for cashews or almond butter. If you have an over all nut allergy you could substitute with tahini which is made from seeds. You could omit the nuts and seeds all together and just have it like a stir fry. I like the peanuts to offset the bitterness of the dandelion but really once they are cooked it loses bitterness. 'There remains only a hint of it.

DSC_8536.jpg

DSC_8537.jpg
If you can't stand the taste but would like to make use of this plant, you could dry the roots and make tea or coffee substitute. I have yet to try that.

My relatives on the farm make dandelion wine. I love wine but this is absolutely undrinkable. A wino in the streets may turn it down.

My former Italian neighbor years back use to eat dandelion all the time. I think he grew it in his yard. I used to see cultivated dandelion in supermarkets and health stores. I wondered why anyone would buy it when it's all over the place. Perhaps it's milder.

I hope that lovers of bitter greens will see this "weed" in a different light.

Sort:  

Looks like a really delish pasta treat yumyumyum

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83