Night sky in a pot

in OCD4 years ago

My oldest African Violet.
Classic navy blue with single petals. This is the colour we had at our home since I remember.
And this is the one that started my African Violet hoarding (now about 12 colours, which is still not much, but I just don't have any more space for them).

African Violet navy blue 3.jpg

They all have those extra sparkly petals when you look at them in the sun. They all have the petals so delicate that when you accidentally bend them, they will bruise.

There was a time that I had to battle with mealybugs on them. To the point that I had to throw away a few plants and just take some healthy and clean leaves and start all over again. Now that I have Streptocarpuses the buggers moved to them and Violets have time off.

In case you wish to have some of those beauties at home, all you need is to find someone that has a plant and as for a leaf. Take that leaf home and stick it on an angle in a pot of soil. Leave it in a bright, but without direct sunlight spot, water gently so that it stays moist and in 2-3 month you will see little plants emerge :)
With a bit of luck you will have multiple plants growing from just one leaf. Once I had over 10 of them.
Good luck!

African Violet navy blue 1.jpg

African Violet navy blue 2.jpg

african violet navy blue 4.jpg

african violet navy blue 2.jpg

And they all must have something so tasty that my cat has to nibble on them as soon as they open.
This is a shot with another one.... she was just waiting for me to put it back and don't look. She didn't want to pose with the navy blue one.

african violet purple susi paws.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

REGISTRATION | UPVOTE VALUES | NEW MEMBERS BONUS

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
!BEER
6

Hi @ewkaw!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.278 which ranks you at #1916 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 100 places in the last three days (old rank 1816).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 78 contributions, your post is ranked at #16.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server


Hey @ewkaw, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

That is beautiful, especially that first shot! Gorgeous photo! 💜

I don’t know why the first photo just creep me out! It has fangs!!

Hahaha :D Kind of...

Howdy! I could say, "wow how many time after we talked last time" but not haha... but I can say that it's been a long time since I took a look to your posts... a shame! These violets are just gorgeous, they seems velvet.

See ya!

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @priyanarc and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on steem and show us more of your amazing work!

I think you deserve some $trdo

Gorgeous shots..!!! @ewkaw

Gorgeous. I used to keep African violets – many years ago – and they were just as vibrantly colored as your photos.

Resteemed and curated to photography-curation in @c-squared on Discord

~ AND ~

PHOTOSTREEM: This post has been manually curated by The PhotoStream team: The Photography Tribe!

banner 1.jpg

Congratulations @ewkaw

They do have such amazing colours! I love them all :)
Thank you very much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72