Endings and beginnings

in OCD4 years ago

As this weekend starts a part of my life draws to a close. I don't mourn its loss though...The road ahead hints at new beginnings.

By 9am this Friday I had already been at work for 3 hours; I had a heavy day of appointments and paperwork and wanted to get an early start. Conscientious? Possibly...Ulterior motive? Definitely. I was keen to get started on the weekend and so arriving early and getting my day finished quickly seemed to be the right way to go. I headed home at 2pm this afternoon.

The weekend had started.

It's a long weekend here; For a pretty stupid reason (a horse race) but I'm not complaining. Three day weekends suit me no matter what their purpose. Three glorious days off; Full of potential and opportunity and I managed to get home early today for a head-start on it.

We have a few things planned, beginning with dinner tonight at home with a friend. This is the person who looks after our house and cats when we go away, which we will be doing at the end of March. I'm cooking so dinner should be magnificent. OK, that's a lie. I'm ordering pizza.

Saturday I'm working around the house, mainly in my workshop to organise a few things, tools, storage and workspace with the intent on making things a little easier and streamlined. I'll Spotify some country music to my bluetooth speaker during the process - Nothing like tunes to accompany a bloke in his workshop huh?

On Saturday night Faith and I are going to work through a gigantic wooden chest of photographs. We have been together for a long time, pre digital camera, so have many printed photos and will discard doubles and bad quality ones. This is likely to take a while as I'm sure we'll have a great laugh about some of them along the way. I may find a few I'm willing to share here also, so keep an eye out if you're keen; Could be good for a laugh.

We're heading off to the country on Sunday to find some lonely dirt roads and a shady spot by a creek for a picnic. This is the headline act of the weekend to be honest. I love getting into the countryside, and away from people, and I know a few good spots to do so.

We're going to head over to Barossa Valley and up into the hills there...After a stop off at the very legit Lyndoch Bakery for supplies. [Supplies = Cream buns.] We'll be laying on a blanket by the creek most of the afternoon. Perfection.

We'll head home afterwards to hang out for the evening with Faith's mum who is making dinner for us. I always look forward to that because home-cooked meals that someone else cooked are one of my favourite things. Come on, you have to agree right?

Monday is unscheduled at the moment which is great. I'm thinking of catching up on some shows on TV, Britannia and Westworld are on my list...Snacks will, quite obviously, make an appearance to said Netflix-binge-session.

Oh, another thing...This is the last weekend I'll be in my 40's...Yep, I turn 50 years old next week and whilst I'm not a fan of having my birthday celebrated I see the milestone as an important one. It will pass without any fanfare and really is just a normal day of life, but a new journey starts, one I'm fully prepared to get after!

Have a great weekend y'all.

Go do something.


Tomorrow isn't promised - Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
An original post written by a human
Discord: galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

Sort:  

Sounds like a great weekend planned! Going through old photos will be a laugh I think, and it’s a reminder of your time together, friends and family and events possibly long forgotten.
Have a great weekend!

Thanks mate, it should be a good one! I agree, the photos will be fun. I'm.sure I'll find some terrible ones though...😂

Meanwhile, Faith doesn't look a day over 30. You'll be getting filthy looks from judgemental old biddies by now; no wonder you like to get away from it all.
Have fun :)

Haha, I'll pass that on. She'll disagree of course...Lucky she's white huh, someone might confuse her as my daughter if she was the same colour. Lol.

Wowsers, that sounds like a bonzer weekend mate! The photo thing will be a blast, I love the memories when you are going through them with your chick.

And it only matters what age you are in your heart! ;0)

It should be cool and yes, the photos thing is going to take ages! I'm pretty sure we'll have a few laughs though. She hasn't changed much but we met when she was almost 16 so it'll be hilarious to see her in the photos, years later, as kid...Me too I suppose. Should be good.

I'm not too worried about turning 50...I'm still rockin' it I reckon...My wife still likes me and that's all that really matters. 🙂

Your weekend ahead sounds fabulous. Enjoy it all and Happy early birthday! 🎂

Should be a good long weekend...Shh, don't tell anyone I'm turning old next week. Lol.

Have a great weekend and happy birthday

Cheers...Should be good.

Sounds like a great weekend for you both👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Weekend has been deployed...mission started.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 130000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 140000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Been here 3+ yrs Man....!!!

It is almost painless.... You will hardly even notice being..... Over the Hill

Welcome aboard this ship of old fools My friend, but beware. There are leaks, get a bucket and help us bail out the water will ya...? Do not even think about a Mutiny....

I'm Your Captain..... I'm Your Captain......

Add that to Your M̶U̶T̶I̶N̶O̶U̶S̶ weekend playlist......

One more thing Sir G-Dog.....
Those Snacks You Worship......

They do more damage as we get Older....

WTF Man...! Do You have a tape worm..... Lmao

Juss kidding..... And heading inside to find a creamy delicious bit of damage.......

Lol...The good thing is I'll never catch up to you...Lol.

Ahhh, you're still a kid. Don't sweat it. lol. But that sounds like wonderful wonderful plans!

Yeah, I'm ok...Can still walk unaided, and don't need my food vitamised in the blender just yet.

lol...I don't think that's ever going to happen to you sir galenkp. Can still walk unaided! You can probably even RUN still right? lol. You got decades to go before you start getting decrepid!

Yeah I can run...I reserve that activity for special occasions though: Shooting competitions and when T-Rex is chasing me. Lol.

lol...yeah you are super talented because you can fire a weapon and run at the same time, that's hard to do accurately!

Practice makes better. Lol. Sometimes I miss though.

Sounds like a great way to spend the long weekend! Happy early birthday!

Hey Pooky, thanks for that. The birthday situation isn't a big deal for me, but the long weekend is. I love my long weekends when they come around! 🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61750.97
ETH 2886.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63