You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [EN] Posting (or double-posting) in multiple languages? Read this!/[ES] ¿Publicar (o publicar doble) en varios idiomas? ¡Lee esto!

in OCD4 years ago

Is it ok that a user who happens to know ten different languages, posts the same content ten times?

Yes it is. Doing a translation of a text is a serious job (not considering a Googletrans a real translation) that deserves reward. Users are not obliged to vote for every version. It is expected that those who know a single language would upvote only that text, so no need to decline payout.

Sort:  

The answer to those questions is, no, it is not ok. And if it's not ok to do it ten times, it's not ok to do it twice.

I know how hard a translation (and I mean a real one) could be, I have done it for this post, and I have people very close to me that have been doing this for a living for a loooong time, so beleive me when I say that I know what I am saying. Still not ok, and is discouraged by the community. Like we said in the post, the reward pool is NOT infinite.

I have also done translations professionally 8 years. And also know what I am talking about.

Like we said in the post, the reward pool is NOT infinite.

That argument would be valid if the users were FORCED to vote for all translations. And they are not. So I can’t agree with you on this one.

The thing is, and it's clearly stated in the post, that it is not ME, but the community.

Loading...

I'm on the same page @lighteye

If we would assume that same content must be in both languages under just one post, then I wonder shall we say about those people, who are publishing 'series' on some particular topic? You could also tell them that they should pack it all in one publication, instead of breaking one topic into 3-4 posts.

should we also be strict towards those authors and encourage/enforce them to post all their series within one article?

Yours, Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66732.73
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66