The Maldives – A place you DO need to visit before you die!

in OCD4 years ago

The information I am writing is from personal experience of my visit to The Maldives in 2003. All photographs were taken by myself or partner, nothing you see are stock photographs.

DSCN0009.JPG

I must state this because looking at the Maldives content on Steemit I see photographs that have been published many times, these are not.

During June 2003 I was fortunate enough to visit The Maldives on a 3 week vacation and chose Bandos Island resort as our destination.

This was before the great catastrophe that was a Tsunami in 2004. I have no idea if it has been restored to its former glory.

After a stopover in Dubai, we landed in the main ‘city’ of Male which is really a large town with an airstrip. This, of course, is not the final destination and not what we see in all those fantastic beach shots. The next step was to jump on a speedboat with white leather seats and shoot off to Bandos Island resort, fantastic!

IMG_1590.JPG

You may think 3 weeks on an island is paradise and it is, but if visit make sure you take PLENTY of entertainment. I’m talking about books, magazines, music. There’s ONE shop on the island and you may or may not be able to get a newspaper to keep in touch with the outside world.

This place is remote and almost completely cut-off from the outside world. You can walk around the entire circumference in 20 minutes, we did it several times.

The inner part of the island is for the workers and staff. It contains everything that is required to please the guests and sleeping quarters. It is also cordoned off to guests.

DSCN0043.JPG

The rooms do contain a TV, but that’s as far as it goes for entertainment. If you love sitting in the sun all day then it’s wonderful but we did end up counting the days down before leaving sad to say. That’s why I must emphasize, bring much to do!

During my stay, I attended a diving course and gained my PADI Open Water certificate. This place is a diver’s paradise. Near vertical reefs, loads of coral, big fish including sharks (I did see one).

DSCN0025.JPG

The beaches really are deserted for the most part. The resort can only house a certain amount of guests and as you can see from the aerial view of this island, it's sand all around.

There is one main restaurant; The holiday is all-inclusive so you must eat there or starve. I can’t remember getting fed up of the food although I guess this could happen to some.

DSCN0047.JPG

DSCN0049.JPG

We did do a couple of trips, one to ‘Male’ the capital where we saw some of the architecture, the fish markets, and a lot of souvenir shops where you can be pestered into giving up your money for trinkets. Truth be told, there isn’t anything really to buy, its all about the islands.

DSCN0028.JPG

DSCN0034.JPG

The other was a Night Fishing trip which I can recommend. The details are quite sketchy as this was 15 years ago, but I do remember catching something quite large. The seas are full of aquatic creatures, its just isn’t hard to get some results.

There is some land wildlife on the island too. I got this great shot of a lizard who didn’t seem very scared of me at all.

DSCN0052.JPG

Sometimes I just wanted to hang around, and very often did.

DSCN0046.JPG

The sunsets? Just look at the MAIN post picture. I took this at dusk and there was no shortage of views every night just like this.

DSCN0041.JPG
I have done a lot of traveling on my years, seen many places but have many more to visit. This is the most beautiful place I have ever seen. You simply must go before you die!

This is a STEEM reprint of a post from almost 2 years ago.. - Not much chance of going anywhere these days besides watching the dog empty his bowels yet again during my 'daily exercise'. Oh... the highlight of the day!

RedLine.png


CurieCurator.jpg

  • Earn Passive Manna by simply signing up for it here. Mannabase is a Universal Basic Income Cryptocurrency
  • Earn STEEM and digital cards while playing STEEM Monsters, the best game on the STEEM Blockchain here.
  • Earn JSECoin buy simply creating an account and Mine while you browse here

RedLine.png

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Check that big blonde monkey in the tree! ;O)

Yah, he was a right poser!

It's true that this place was so amazing. I really love to visit a place where far from the outside world. I don't know but for me it's like a paradise. A place that I wanted to stay forever.

keep up the good work 🤝 stay safe 👍🏾 !trdo

Congratulations @kgakakillerg, you successfuly trended the post shared by @slobberchops!
@slobberchops will receive 0.41647163 TRDO & @kgakakillerg will get 0.27764775 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

indeed a wonderful place, bring some memories back, thanks for that!

Not much chance of going anywhere these days besides watching the dog empty his bowels yet again during my 'daily exercise'. Oh... the highlight of the day!

Aint that the truth! lol

Can't even do that today as I'm working!

doggo has to make poopies indoors? no!

I could only visit places like these in my dreams!
those pics turned me on very much.

Congratulations @slobberchops, your post successfully recieved 0.41647163 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@kgakakillerg earned : 0.27764775 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62