Light in the darkness and maybe a little rant

in OCD4 years ago

Light in the darkness and maybe a little rant

I came across these shots of some of the Chandeliers in Grand Central and decided to share them this morning, I always found this caught my eye whenever I walked through the terminal and thought these shots were wot sharing and they kind of fitted to something my wife and I were talking about this morning, which I may vent about a little later on in this post but first let's just enjoy a shot of one of them

1 1 light inthe darkness3.jpg

Sony A7iii 117mm F6.3 1/60 Sec ISO 2000
Click here to view larger



Arent they such impressive light fixtures Lovely gold metal work and glittering in the height of the terminal.
Her is a closer shot of one of them.

1 1 light inthe darkness.jpg

Sony A7iii 212mm F6.3 1/60 Sec ISO 2500
Click here to view larger



OK I have bene debating whether to have this rant, but I will let it go and vent a little feel free to scroll by this next paragraph or two.

Light in the darkness in the title for me is related to the light being seeing signs in some states that the Curve of the virus has been flattened and the chance of returning to some form of normalcy in the not to distant future, the darkness is the fact that to me some states are rushing too much to try and return to normal and risk a second wave as has been learned in Japan and Singapore who relaxed or didn't impose strong guidelines thinking it was under control and then the second wave came and even stronger guidelines restrictions were needed.

And at this time, but prevalent for a while well before the virus, I have noticed a trend for many to choose to only read articles or news sites that echo what they choose to believe, and hence have a distorted view of reality, I wish more would do as I do and read articles and news at both end of the spectrum in the middle and allow themselves to make an informed opinion on the reality of things, Now I am not saying I know for certain how everything is, one never does, but at least allow yourself to see things from different perspectives.

How that relates to the Virus I see so many sharing articles on Farcebook that match what they want to believe, and so often based on the headline of the article, often if you actually take the time to read the article ( which I am also noticing many choose not to do as the headline matches what they want to hear so they don't feel they need to read it), often I find the article does not actually match the heading, it is just there to grab attention to catch views and gain page views.

Now let me say I do think the mainstream press does tend to like to sensationalize things again to get views and increase ratings and that doesn't help, but neither do articles twisting statistics of facts to meet the writers perspective.

Now I am not going to lecture on what people should do or not do in this post, there is enough of people doing it out there at the moment, but let me just say..

I choose to wear a mask when I go out, all be it very rarely, not because I think it will protect me from catching the virus, but because if I do happen to catch the virus and in the early period of not showing symptoms I would be protecting those I may come near, also when out I am very careful to maintain social distancing guidelines, so a mask may not achieve anything when I am out but I feel I am doing my bit to try and contain the virus.

Now I do understand some say wearing a mask makes breathing harder, and I do agree I have COPD and breathing issues and do feel the difference with my breathing wearing a mask.

Now as I said each has a right to make their own decision, but personally I believe COVID 19 is a serious issue and if measures are not taken to contain it and return slowly and sensibly to back to normal, we are going to see a second wave and all the restrictions we have felt and been driven nuts by up to now will be waste of time

OK Rant over another photo to finish of the post.

1 1 light inthe darkness2.jpg

Sony A7iii 36mm F5.6 1/60 Sec ISO 5000
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!steemitworldmap 40.752412 lat -73.976960 long Grand Central terminal NYC d3scr

Sort:  

I agree with you: wearing a mask is mostly considerate of others. Good rant!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87