You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Looking to the future and seeing now

in OCD4 years ago

Working towards long term goals doesn't guarantee a secure future, but it sure does increase your odds.
Setting and then accomplishing short term goals provides motivation to continuing to stay the course.
Accomplishing anything requires effort, and effort requires activity, and activity is good for both the body and mind.
For those of use that are fortunate enough to reach established goals, both short term and long, with a soul mate by our side makes us the lucky ones. I could never imagine not having Robin by my side.
She is my motor, and without her I'm not sure how motivated I would be to do anything.
So many people are without loving mates and to some degree that has to be a lonely existence.

The Golden Years only have a chance of being golden with a lot of hard, before they arrive.

As I'm well into the back nine, I know that some health shit is at the end of the tunnel, and loosing my mental capabilities is probably my biggest concern.
I don't dwell on any negatives for long, including what Robin and I refer to as Old Timers.
Your Dad's situation is one that is hard to deal with, I'm sure.
Your glass half full scenario,
(despite his dementia, he's still teaching me things...The importance of valuing life now, of being one hundred percent present in it, because it really is the most precious of things. I think that's pretty cool. Thanks dad.) is a great way to look at most things.
May your remaining time with your Pop bring you even closer and continue to be a source of motivation.

I would expect, with all the advancements that are constantly made in medicine, it will not be long before they have an answer to this horrific disease.

I don't know if I have said this before, your closing line on all of your posts is something that many people would be wise to consider.

Sort:  

I agree with your goal-setting and achieving text completely. I've always been a goal-setter and advocate for the process. So many don't know what a true goal is by definition, or how to set one; I've found this in the mentoring work I do. It's an easy concept though, to teach and learn.

It is a difficult situation, of course you know this. The back 9 huh? Nice way to put it. I'll be 50 in under a month so these things are becoming more relavent to me. I don't dwell on them, but they pop up from time to time. I'm fortunate to be reasonably healthy, quick of mind and whilst I have back problems tend to manage them reasonably well. It's the mind thing that plays on me, more so because I observe my dad.

You mention Robin and I feel the same about Faith. I think for me that's the worst part...Potentially forgetting her. That would kill me. In fact I'd rather be dead to be honest.

Anyway, all we can do is live life the best way, be the best version of ourselves and make sure we move forward with the least opportunity for regret. That is what my closing line on my posts means, among other things.

Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default.

I don't think you've mentioned it before but I'm always chuffed (happy) when someone does. My hope is that it rubs off on others because it's a great little ethos to live by.

Your comments are always appreciated sir.

!ENGAGE 20

Thanks my friend. Your comments are appreciated as well.



@thebigsweed you have received 20 ENGAGE from @galenkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61905.09
ETH 2902.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55