Original Poetry: Oh My City! Nigeria or "The Land of Steem"

in OCD4 years ago

FB_IMG_15788986997095494.jpg

Oh my great city,
Once thronged with people,
Are silent now,
Like a desolate land.

Like a widow broken with grief,
She sits alone in her morning,
She, once queen of nations,
Now seems like a slave.

There was a time in my city,
When strangers struggled to be known,
Now the times have changed,
When we go in scout for strangers.

News of your glory and strength,
Was a bait for investors,
Now, we need many words,
To tell how beautiful you still are.

Oh my great city,
The price of your rubbies are lost in the dust,
All your former gold miners,
Now call you all sort of names.

Oh my great city,
What wrong did you do?
There are traces of your beauty,
I hope you rise again.

Oh my great city,
When will your light glow again?
I pray the days be few,
When you will rise again

FB_IMG_15773632976407359.jpg

Oh my great city,
Once, your land were full of green,
Oh hiw sad, the lilies have been trodden upon.

Oh my great city,
Once, you were a fertile soil to plant,
The harvest were great and heavy,
I hope those days come again.

FB_IMG_15775574948043980.jpg

Oh my great city,
I still see your lights even in the dark,
I know you will shine again,
Your scorn will turn to joy.

Oh my great city,

You sound much like my country - Nigeria,

But you are the land of Steem!


First Image - captured by cam
Second Image - Drawn from a friend's
FB timeline

Third Image - Arial view of Akwa Ibom, my state


5% rewards set for @sbdpotato

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56