You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finding answers online is an important skill for developers

in Project HOPE4 years ago

Dear @bala41288

Back in the day I used to be programmer myself (pascal, delphi etc - old days) and I remember how difficult it has been to find answers at that time. Books. Books and again books. Loads of reading and wasting time lol.

Today's generation is blessed with all content accessable online and communication tools, which allows developers to be connected.

When I try to hire someone for my team, I mainly look for criteria to see if the person is inquisitive or not.

Could you tell us more about your business? Just curious.

I remember being hired as a programmer (at the end of my career) and during interview I was questioned about my skills until the point where I didn't know what am I being asked about. At that time I was told that I've 1hour to surf online and read up about this new subject. After this 1h I received few small tasks, which were supposed to show if I'm quick learner or not. I loved that interview (perhaps because I got that job :)

Upvoted already,
Yours, Piotr

Sort:  

Yes old days were very difficult. People had to read lots of books to stay updated. I have so much of respect for those old programmers.

I work in a company as a Lead developer and when I hire new members for the team that's how I filter them.

I really liked the way your interview was created and that is absolutely the right way every interview should be conducted according to me because practically that is how our day to day work is going to be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69104.81
ETH 3758.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68