My First Five Day as a Father. (A Financial Perspective)

in Project HOPE4 months ago

5 days of being a father for the first time, and I can tell you that I have a sweet as well as financial draining experience. Let me give a comprehensive but short detail about my first five days of being a father.

You see, everything in our world is financially connected. You see, the joy of fatherhood began for me the first day my wife @oluwatobiloba told me she was pregnant. I was very happy I told my friend I was going to be a father and we shouted together as ladies would shout over a surprise. So as expected I asked her to begin her antenatal program.


Image Credit

One financial constraint we have in Nigeria, is access to insurance. Not having a health insurance makes health cost expensive. For every visit to the doctor, I had to strategize to ensure that our finance was not affected, since our finance wasn't increasing, inflation was on the rise, prize of goods and services were increasing hourly, and to top it all, my wife had to visit the doctor every week and it cost about 1/4 of our weekly income.

You would expect that we start preparing for the baby, and so we did and trust me, it was another financial calculation and planning. We had to cut certain expenses, and prepare for him so he would come to a well prepared home. The delivery day was a bomb because I had to pray that my wife doesn't have any complications (since the health sector in Nigeria isn't trustworthy).


Image Credit

I was only expecting just one news, that my wife had put to bed and although I waited a long time, the news came eventually. While in the frenzy of the good news, I was told to receive my bill at the reception. The Bill was exuberant, and the hospital didn't tell us our bills before the procedure so we had to look for the funds for the delivery after the delivery.

The first five days of being a father has be fun but at the same time it has been financially draining as I have had lots of guests and will still be having more. I will need to sit down, and reorganize my finance again.

Sort:  
 4 months ago 

hi @gbenga

share some of your own photo with your baby instead of using some picture from the internet :)

ps. thanks for sharing your experience as a dad

stay safe buddy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69606.90
ETH 3697.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.24