The no investment strategy

in Project HOPE4 years ago

hv_25_05_1.png

You want to build your business online and all the gurus tell you that you should define clear objectives that represent a challenge and should be reachable. I totally agree with that.

The investment trap

I realised for myself that each time I fixed an objective for myself, I tended to work in a very special manner and I'm probably not the only one like that. Let's say my objective is to create one video per week and to upload it to social media.

What would I do first? I would concentrate on all the tools I need for it. I would research for hours which is the best video editor, what mike I would need and how I could create a nice intro.

I would spend so much time on it, that in the end I would loose the focus of my real objective

That is what I call the investment trap. I tend to believe that the first step in order to reach an objective is to get the necessary material to get started.

My strategy to reach my goals

It is always nice to face your problems but it's even nicer if you find a way around them. Whenever I set some objectives for myself I started to get lost in research to buy the good equipment. I found out that it was just a kind of delaying strategy. Instead of tackling the real objective and to get active, I delayed with stuff that was much easier. It's much easier to surf through online catalogues for nice mikes than to actually produce a video.

To prevent myself from being able to fall into this delaying trap, I developed my no investment strategy. For whatever objective that I wanted to reach, I would have to do without investment.

  • Do I need a new camera to make a video? No I have a smartphone, I can film my screen or I also have a camera in my desktop.
  • Do I need a new mike? No I have an old headset that works quite well.
  • Do I need an editing software? No I just create my videos on the run with the open source OBS software

So instead of searching for the perfect tools, I use the ones I have. More importantly I don't loose a lot of time researching. I start to produce my video immediately.

That is my no investment strategy:

Use what you have and take action immediately

I believe that our lives are full of such delaying traps. When we want to loose weight we start to buy a fitness abo, instead of going for a run today. When we want to start a busines, we buy tons of books and watch tutorials but we should actually just get started.

We can only reach our objectives by taking action!

-***-


A project run by @achim03

Sort:  

Exactly and invest for a better camera or mic if you have an acceptable result with your videos.

That's the way to go. Thanks a lot for your comment!

I feel that vibe, most often we miss out on opportunities simply because we are waiting for the appropriate tools when we can simply use the gadgets we have to create something beautiful.

Thanks a lot for your comment. It's true that we are often scared to do something because we believe we can't do it perfectly. The best sometimes is to just try and do.

 4 years ago 

@tipu curate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62