"Recipe of the Day, Week No. 17; Okro soup"

in Steemit Iron Chef29 days ago

Hello beautiful people of this community. It's a great pleasure to always show up here to read and write about food. I must say, I have tried some recipes but only those the ingredients are at reach. I just love to share my own recipe too. I want to thank @nancy0 for this contest.

My recipe for today is Okro soup.

IMG20240509105041.jpg

This dish is enjoyed mostly in the afternoon as lunch or dinner, depending on what you combine it with. It can be combined with garri, foofoo or white rice.

Health Benefits of Okro
• Okro is low in calories but has a lot of nutrients that's good for the body.

• It's a great provider of vitamin k that helps blood clot in the body.

• It consist of antioxidants that fights molecules that destroys cells.

• It supports good immune function due to its vitamin c.

• It has anticancer properties.

• It controls blood sugar level and gives good heart health in pregnant women.


Ingredients for Okro

IMG20240508151138.jpg

The ingredients I used for this dish are;
• Okro

• Palm oil

• Maggi/salt

• onions/pepper

• periwinkle

• crayfish

• stockfish

• Adusa leaf

• Goat meat


Step-by-step preparations/method of preparation

• What I love to do first is wash, season and put my meat and stockfish on fire to cook while I handle other items.

IMG20240508152016.jpg

• Then I go ahead and wash my periwinkle, pound crayfish, wash and cut my leaf, wash and cut the Okro, cut onions for frying.

IMG20240508154314.jpg

• I set all what I've prepared asides for cooking proper.

IMG20240508155352.jpg

• In my pot, I add my palm oil and allow it get hot for some minutes, then I take my cut onions and pour it inside, then I add my cut onions and stir for a little time.

IMG20240508155611.jpg

• The next thing I do is add my meat with it's stock and add a little water.

IMG20240508155703.jpg

• Then I go ahead to add my periwinkle

IMG20240508155715.jpg

• Then I add my crayfish, Maggi and salt and stir it, allow it cook for a while so the okro can get soft.

IMG20240508155736.jpg

• When it's done to my texture after tasting it, I then add my leaf as the last item.

IMG20240508160457.jpg

• Give it some minutes and bring it down from the fire and serve it if you want to eat it immediately.

IMG20240508160528.jpg


Today, while I was cooking, my neighbour's child perceived the aroma of the food and came knocking, when I opened the door, the little boy asked me what I was cooking, I told him, he went ahead to tell me he would have a plate when I'm done cooking, I couldn't help but laugh as he said he should come in and assist me so we can finish on time. We are together when the food was done.

I would like to invite @dove11, @suboohi, and @strong56 to join this contest. Thank you

Sort:  
 29 days ago 

Su receta que nos compartes está interesante, me llamo mucho la atención que era el okro revisando que era lo que llamaba okro en sus imágenes de su receta hasta que fui a investigar y vi que el okro es lo que llamamos aquí quimbombó, no tenía idea de sus grandes beneficios a la salud, los he probado y son sabrosos, aqui también generalmente se consume en sopa.

Buen trabajo te felicito 🤗

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71227.76
ETH 3816.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43