You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Christian Blogger on Hitting Kids: '' Make Sure It Hurts to be Effective” 🙄

in Atheism4 years ago

Well, I will agree that there are issues, serious issues, with soft parenting, or whatever they call it. It is a fact that some kids, everywhere in the world are displaying very agressive attitudes resulting from lack of disciline and respect. That being said, I refuse to frame good parenting within the confines of religion. I'd not reprimand my children because some god says so. I would do it whenever is necessary because it is the right thing to do in a given context.
Kids need to respect, not to fear, parents and elders. They also need to learn when and how they can contest authority. I don't want a shy, fearful docile child. I want one who knows when to accept that he/she is wrong and apologize if necessary, but also one who is capable of raising his/her voice whenever injustice comes up, whether it comes from religious or non-religious sources.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70439.87
ETH 3810.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44