Goodbye Grandpas

in ART 🌻🎨📝3 years ago

Googebye Grandpas Music Video From The Family Songbook

by Ezra Vancil

The Goodbye Grandpas music video became more of an emotional effort than I ever expected. The song was written about my grandpas for my new album The Family Songbook which you can hear now on all major music outlets.

I had an idea for this video, but I wasn't really sure anyone would want to participate. I through a few posts out there asking folks to send me a picture of a grandpa that had passed on that they would want to commemorate in a music video.

I got more than enough pictures. In fact, each time I finished the edit on the video, someone would email me another grandpa picture and say, " please if you still have space..." . How can you turn them down? So the video grew and grew until there was no more room for me actually playing the song in the video, and that's probably a good thing haha 😂 .
I like that it is now just the grandpas.

The Goodbye Grandpas Video is made up of pictures listeners sent me of their own beloved grandpas who have passed on.

Each time I booted up the edits to look over, I cried. I cried in the last roll of the video to check it before uploading for the premiere. I ask my wife to check my videos—she cried each time I asked her to check.

Goodbye-Grandpas-promo-3.jpg

To my Listneres

For me, at least, these grandpa pictures touch on a very tender place inside. A place that reaches back to a childhood I cherish but barely remember, and a life I love but hardly understand.

Goodbye Grandpas image.png

This became such a dear work to me because you shared your memories with me. I had so many quiet moments looking at those old men (Your Grandpas)—them looking back at me. They said a lot of things to me, I know those things they whispered will make it into future songs.


This new music video is now live on Youtube.
Check it out, thumbs it up, subscribe, and all that good stuff if you're so inclined.


The Family Songbook

The New Album

a4131200708_16.jpg

"...The Family Songbook stands as one of the most important releases in 2020." - the Hollywood digest

Check out the whole album. The Family Songbook is now available everywhere you listen to music. I'm working on a trilogy of themed albums. The first one is called 'You' and is all about romantic love, the good the bad and the lovely, this one, The Family Songbook is about, of course, familial love. Take a listen now on your favorite music apps.


Hey, thanks for reading. I'm Ezra. I'm a working musician, a writer, and an all-around lover of the creative life... and you can always learn more about me on ezravancil.com


All images by Ezra Vancil from ezravancil.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62780.02
ETH 2945.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62