The Art Of My Family: My Wife - Chase and Repoussé

in ART 🌻🎨📝3 years ago (edited)

The Art Of My Family

The Art of Family is probably already a book somewhere, the art of my family though, is literally, art. From my Dad's generation down to his grandkids, we keep popping out artists. To not do some kind of art in our family leaves you as an odd one, but, believe me, we need the normality balance! The family cover the gamut too, from musician, to painter, to actor, to poet and metalsmith; our family has quite the curious streak. I thought I would highlight my family's art.

My Wife Chase and Repoussé

HowTo Go From Jewelry, To Metalsmith

My wife, she is a work of art herself. I could not be any more lucky.
When we first started dating, she made jewelry, like a lot of girls do. The kind where you string beads on wire. But, she had a dream of metal smithing. When we got married I encouraged her to go for it and she started booking classes with masters who traveled through town now and then.

It took her some years to get competent at Chase and Repoussé. Soon she had reached a level where she taught three classes a week herself, then spent the rest of the week in her studio.

Now she no longer teaches, because of corona virus restrictions, but she still going strong in the studio. It was a lot of hard work; days and nights making mistakes. I remember when she had her first breakthrough. When suddenly, she made something that actually looked professional. It was a silver feather.

I wrote about her studio and that silver feather in a song I just released called big old house.

The lyric in the song about the silver feather:

Let’s turn the barn into a shop
Make your art
Sterling silver feathers
We’ll make due with what we got
We can weld
Any break together

you can check out the video here or below

Chase and Repoussé: My Wife In Her House-Studio (Video)

Here is a video of my wife working in her studio, which is adjacent to our kitchen. She makes these silver and gold pieces with little metal tools that she pounds on all day. The video shows you also what it sounds like in our house.


Her Etsy store: https://www.etsy.com/shop/HalliDorcasJewelry
__

And here I will show some of my favorite pieces of hers.

Leopard

I remember her working on this one. She got frustrated with those little jewel eyes. But eventually she made it happen.

halli3.png

halli5.png

Sunflower

I love this one. I think she should do more flowers. But she likes, mostly, doing animals and insects.

halli6.png

il_794xN.1983329639_nmzd.jpg

Snake

Again one of my favorites. I remember when she was working on this one.

il_1588xN.2197302547_g0m2.jpg

Cross

She gets so many commissions for her bracelets, that it's kinda neat when she does something other.

halli7.png

Dog

I don't remember this one but has some nice work on the hair. A Commission for someone who lost their pet.

halli8.png

Silver Feather

This is not the exact silver feather I was talking about earlier in the blog, but these feathers, to me, have become her signature piece.I love it when she forges something 'soft' into metal, and what is more soft than a feather.

halli9.png

Let’s turn the barn into a shop
Make your art
Sterling silver feathers
We’ll make due with what we got
We can weld
Any break together

The Art Of My Family

I'm working on a way for her where she can receive Bitcoin (etc..) for her pieces .. but if your interested in checking out her work, take a look at her Halli Dorcas Etsy.

Thanks for reading. UPVOTES appreciated. I'll highlight a few more artists in my family soon.

*All images copyright Halli Dorcas


I'm a Songwriter from Texas you can learn more and listen to albums on www.ezravancil.com or check out my music themed steemit @ezravancil

Sort:  

Hello ezravan!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43