Port-oh! A Tasty Tour of Portugal’s Second City

in TravelFeed2 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


Porto has always been on the list as one of my next European destinations to visit, and following a little traveling in the spring I finally managed to make it that way. Having been to Lisbon and the Algarve, now was the time to head north…

I was based in Valencia back in March/April (including the Fallas experience) and my time where I was staying was coming to an end. So what to do? I had an urge to go to Ibiza, so I looked into it, booked accommodation and flight, and off I trotted! Then followed a stint in Mallorca (why not, I appeared to suddenly be on an impromptu Balearic Island tour).

They were both great, although the weather was a little mixed. That was cool as laying around in the sun wasn’t the main purpose and just what fitted in with timings, plans and locations. I knew I’d be back in England for a bit a couple of weeks after so wanted to fit in a 10 day trip (or 2 short trips) in before that. Porto was the choice, and following another week in Valencia on the way, there I was!

A thoroughly interesting city I must say. Many people recommended it and heralded it as ‘better than Lisbon’ etc. I’m not one for those types of comparisons but I see where people are coming from and it helps them place a city and describe their feelings toward it.

A bit of info and history on the Douro River, where Porto sits
A bit of info and history on the Douro River, where Porto sits

It definitely has a strong hint of Lisbon about it - it’s still Portugal after all and the second biggest city to boot. Plenty of those famous hills here too, keeping that fitness up and those calves strong ;). There were also elements of somewhere like Budapest and passing similarities to other places.

There's a nice vibe to it; a smaller more manageable version of Lisbon, the weather a touch cooler, cheaper, very walkable (if you’re fine with the hills that is), a closer community perhaps (locals and expats/nomads) and an overriding chilled nature. I think anyone could enjoy a few days here and it is eminently liveable too. A less obvious destination, but known and appreciated enough to be a great one. That nice balance where it's set up well for tourists but not saturated or its essence 'ruined'. This may well be the sweet spot time as it's sure to develop in the coming years and face the consequences of that (good and bad).

There are some who might not give Porto the credit it deserves but it does have a unique charm too. And if you're into your pastries and Portuguese foods, coffees, fish and all, then you're well covered here. You're never far from a Bifana (pork sandwich) or Francesinha (all sorts sandwich)… nor a Super Bock or Sagres ;)

Source - Bifana
Source - Bifana

Source - Francesinha
Source - Francesinha

Source - main beer options!
Source - main beer options!

I stayed in this kind of 60s, retro hotel not too far from all the action but just out the way enough. Everything was a bit old in there but I liked it. The breakfast was good and a great view over the city from the restaurant. Slightly different to my usual places and mainly picked because it was available and the price… but there was something quite homely and aspects that I liked.  

Of course, the most famous aspect of Porto, is in the name. That’s right, your classic fortified wine - Port! As an aside, it can only be called Port if from Porto area (much like champagne), otherwise it needs to be called something else, eg. fortified wine or a variation on that.

Source
Source

This is a drink I only tend to have at Christmas or other rare occasions. You know, towards the end, when you’re done with the wine. Even then, a glass is enough just to join in but I wouldn’t sit there quaffing it all night. Not something I would buy but someone might whip out if I’m round at dinner. It’s nice but I’m not wild about it, let’s put it that way. Having said that - when in Rome!

And that's where we'll leave it for now. In part 2 in the coming days I'lll tell you all about a particular port tasting/tour I went on!

~ Adam
@adambarratt
www.AdamBarratt.com


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations @adambarratt! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: TravelFeed is in social media to reach more people, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67