Whatever Happened to Just Being a Good Person for its Own Sake?

in WORLD OF XPILAR5 months ago

I was having an interesting discussion earlier today about human behavior and what we believe in.

As the conversation continued we touched on one of the points that has always been a bit of a mystery for me. That is, people who have a strong belief in God but who also admit quite openly that without having "a fear of God" they wouldn't be nice people.

20230703_182333.jpg

So you're sincerely telling me that the only reason you're not out raping and pillaging and stealing from your neighbor is because you have a fear of God?

I don't know what that says about the human species as a whole, but it surely can't be a good thing! Alternatively, maybe I am just excessively naive about true human nature...

The whole train of thought came about because I was reading a friend's essay for a contest submission in which he was telling a story from his youth in which he had been out trying to get signatures on a petition for clean water where he lived in New Jersey, and he was having a hell of a time getting anyone to sign the petition.

20231130_230340.jpg

As it turned out, he had been mostly going around a fairly affluent and somewhat conservative neighborhood where there were also a lot of traditionally religious people. And what eventually revealed itself was the fact that (this was all right before Y2K) a lot of these people sincerely believed that they were in "end times," and because of that they saw no reason to care about clean water.

Which struck me essentially as a metaphor for "I have no reason to be a good person simply for the sake of doing right, I'm only going to be a good person if there is some kind of incentive being given to me for that."

The disturbing part of that particular line of thinking is the fact that when we turn it backwards what we're saying is that human beings' "default setting" is to be shitty, and that being "a good person" is an artificially created construct.

20230731_123225.jpg

Now, I get that our biological imperative is "survival of the species," but survival of the species tends to typically work better through cooperation than through confrontation. And so I would hazard to guess that you're more likely to survive as a species if you just (by nature) would like to have clean water as opposed to only have clean water because you're going to be rewarded for saying yes to that.

In turn, that made me think about some of my own thoughts about alternative energy and clean energy that has developed in recent years. There tends to be two camps in that particular arena, and one of the camps are generally the people who don't care much about reducing emissions and what pollution might do.

My point here is that my "soapbox issue" isn't whether we are fighting global warming or not, but very simply that I like to breathe clean air. And whether your stinky diesel truck that's "burning coal" is contributing to global warming or not is less my overarching concern than the fact that I don't want to breathe the stinking fumes coming out of your truck!

20230730_003934.jpg

Of course we end up with a lot of people (particularly here in the USA) saying "well it's my right to be dirty!"

To which my answer is "WHY do you want to be dirty?" I don't care whether it's your right and I don't want to take your right away I want to know why you want to be dirty. And if the only sincere reason you can come up with for that is that you "don't want the government telling you what to do", then I'm not sure I want you to be part of the same gene pool I'm in!

Yes, I realize that's all a bit harsh... but sometimes people frustrate me because they engage in some variation of cutting off their own noses despite their face. Just be a good person! It's not rocket science!

Thanks for stopping by, and have a great remainder of your week!

How about you? Do you believe in being a good person? Are you authentically a good person? Or do you only do good from a fear of judgment? Leave a comment if you feel so inclined — share your experiences — be part of the conversation!

(All text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is ORIGINAL CONTENT, created expressly for this platform — Not posted elsewhere!)

Created at 2023.12.20 00:45 PST
x661/1896

Sort:  

There are different kind of people around us.

  • God-fearing
  • People-pleaser
  • Selfish
  • Morally upright

I think all of us have at least once said this in our life for any possible reason:

If God hadn't forbidden it, I would've done it.

I might have said this too multiple times out of anger.

But if I think about small things I do in daily life, I don't have God in mind when I don't hurt somone.

I don't try to please everyone around. I know my limits.

I'm not selfish all the time. I don't have a hidden cause when I do something nice for anyone.

I'm not angel, I have my shortcomings, but mostly I try to be considerate just for the sake it or simple because it's morally the right thing do.

 5 months ago 

Indeed, there are many different kinds of people!

I see what they are doing, and sometimes I even understand the psychology of trauma that leads to their choices... but it doesn't mean I necessarily understand the rationalizations.

A friend of mine describes something he has termed "idealistic selfishness." It;s basically a closer look at what we might call win-win situations. I give some coins to the homeless person because it is right for its own sake, but also because doing so reduces the chance that person will end up breaking into my car at some point and stealing something. We are both served by the action.

Interesting. That's how we co-exist. It's ok to put yourself first as long as we balance it with some empathy to others (win-win).

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56