Sunrise & sunsets around the world (#steemexclusive / 13 photos)

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

DSC_00.jpg

Somehow the moments around sunrises and sunsets provide peace of mind in many ways. There is a special atmosphere when the sun breaks out or sets and the colors change until it is either completely light or completely dark. When I look through my folders with photos, I do see that I have taken many pictures of both. I have selected some of them, taken from different parts of the world.


A sunrise photo from Easter Island, which is famous for the large statues carved in stone. The whole island seems to be an open air museum, because the statues are spread all over. This place named Tonariki has statues standing with their back to the sea. The sun rises behind them. I arrived while it was still completely dark and stayed until we saw the sun.


This photo shows the sunset on Mt. Everest, the highest mountain in the world. I was doing a 12 day trek to Eeverest Base Camp. When I took the photo, I had already completed B.C and had returned to Gorek Shep to stay for the night. The peak which is orange, is Mt. Everest.


This is sunset at a construction site in Grand Baie, Mauritius. When it was completed, it had turned into the shopping mall named La Croisette. Because my lodging was on the oppite side of the road I had the chance to look at the process. The workers were still there. This was one of those gorgeous sunsets.


This place is the river Ganges and the city is Varanasi, India. This river is sacred to the Hindus. At sunrise the river is visited by locals, who will bath in the river. To a Hindu a bath in Ganges a has a positive impact. Along the river bank there are so many rituals are taking place, including cremations. I was in a boat when I took the photo.


This photo was taken in Kristiansand, Norway. Just a few minutes walk from where I live there is a beach which during the summermonth is a popular place to come to swim. But this sunset photo was taken during winter, in the month of Descember.


This sunset photo was taken on the smal island Roderique, located in the Indian Ocean. This small island has a location quite far from the maintream destinations, but it has stunning mountainious landscape, perfect for hiking. Because it's a tropical island, it's got white sandy beaches as well. A true, tropical paradise.


Sunset from my hotel in New Delhi, India. Because I only had to stay one night before leaving, I stayed in a hotel close to the airport. The sun seems to be resting on the lamppost!


A sunset photo from the Bay of Bertes, Kristansand, Norway. A lovely place to go for walks. You will also find one of the city's marinas for sailboats here.


This is a photo taken in Bagan, Myamar. I was doing av balloon tour at sunrise. Bagan is a historical site containing more than 2000 temples, pagodas and stupas, built some time between the 11th and 13th century. This makes it one of the worlds great historical and relegious sites.


This is Ha Long Bay, Vietnam. I am enjoying the sunset from the boat that took me around this bay. This bay has almost 2000 island in different sizes and shapes. I think that bay is one of the Vietnam's most visited destination.


Again a suset photo. The place is Grand Baie, Mauritius. A cyclone was in progress. There was therefore a strong wind and the water level had risen. People who had their small wooden boats lying in the bay took them ashore so that they would not be crushed. We stayed inside the first day, while the storm was strong. The next day we took a walk and watched the sunset over a troubled sea. The wind was still strong.


Locals and tourists are crossing the U-Bein Bridge at sunset. This bridge is located in Amarapura, just south of Mandalay, Myanmar. It is made of teak wood. Many places it's missing some planks and it squaks when you walk on it. It is said that it's the longest footbridge in the world. I stayed in Mandalay and took the trip in the afternoon, but I believe sunrise would be just as amazing as the sunset.

I think I will still keep getting up early to cath the sunrise, and still sit down and watch the sun set. No matter where I am.


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next photo shoot. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest photo shoot, check out :
The World of XPILAR - B&W PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #078 - Ancient stupa


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)


Read about us? // Main page!
Latest content: Travel, Art, Food, Article, Poetry

Sort:  

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

 3 years ago 

Thanks a lot :)

You have taken a lot of gorgous pictures thank´s for sharing them with us ;)

 3 years ago 

Thank you. I am glad you liked them :)

Simply beauty!

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62872.85
ETH 3031.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92