The Diary Game. August 2nd, 2020. Pound Cake Day

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago

IMG_20200717_191551_511.JPG

From time to time the body needs a break, time to unwind, let loose, flex responsibly, have meet ups with long time friends and enjoy the family time. Been too busy with work and trying to fix life that I never made much time for family and when the opportunity to have a mini vacation came I took it. A trip to Akure the South Western part of Nigeria where my people reside was worth my weekend.

Every kid has an affinity for sweet stuffs, so l made a Pound cupcake as dessert. Usually I don't work with lemon juice or orange vests, but a change in taste wouldn't hurt. Funny enough I might stick to this taste for a while, I love the lingering effects I felt in my mouth.

My all time ingredients, although I had to make do with what was available.
All purpose flour
Two eggs
Margarine 50g
Sugar
Baking powder
Vanilla essence
Preservative
Lemon juice

In an attempt not to overheat the oven before I start baking, I preheat it at 110°C for 10 minutes.

Coated the cupcake pan with margarine and flour (so it won't become sticky when removing from pan) and set aside. This makes me come out evenly with no breaks or mishaps.

In a bowl, the kids shifted flour, baking powder, vanilla essence, using a sieve. They wanted a treat they had to work for it.

Snapchat-1382304452.jpg

In another bowl, I creamed butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. (I was experimenting so I didn't mix more than 5 minutes).

IMG_20200717_191441_416.JPG

Gradually added the whisked eggs while adding the lemon juice, a teaspoon is fine, mixed until well-combined and scraped the sides as needed, I love it when it's all incorporated.

IMG_20200717_191503_349.JPG

Blended in the flour slowly and ensure everything is combined evenly.

In a prepared pan(coated with margarine and flour), poured the batter and baked for 20 minutes(as desired).
Over the months I don't insert a knife to check when a cake is done, I have studied the time frame needed.

Cake came out nice with a unique taste. So nice I was begged not to go back to my station. As much as I enjoy vacation the stress of being around five agile kids for more than a month isn't an option.

IMG_20200717_191538_363.JPG)

IMG_20200717_191520_983.JPG

This is another entry into the diary game. Missed out on dropping the post yesterday so I made it up today. I am a member of the #9jafive team

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61135.20
ETH 2928.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66