You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Share the etiquette of communication between people in China

in WORLD OF XPILAR5 months ago

Hi @pinkcastle :) Lovely to connect and thanks to @stef1 for the resteem which was how I stumbled upon this post.

It is always fascinating to learn about how different cultures function. Here in South Africa, it is common with certain cultures too, to refer to someone older as "Aunt or Uncle" regardless of whether they are relatives or not - it is simply a sign of respect... however, I did not grow up with that in my household... We were taught to greet with "Mr. and Mrs."

Many years ago when my little boy (who was about 3 at the time) was introduced to my boyfriends mom, he called her by her first name and I will never forget the look of HORROR on her face at this rude mannered little boy who had not greeted her with a title. hehehe!!! She actually never told me about it until a few months later and my little boy was petrified of her from that point forward because of the way she reacted that day.

Once I found out WHY... I had to explain to him how he should greet - even though he did it with no ill intention.

So, now she is Aunty Rose, and all is well with the world lol

In Chinese etiquette, if you say thank you to someone close to you, it will make the other person feel alienated and not treat the other person as one of your own, which will make the other person feel uncomfortable. In the eyes of the Chinese, we are family, because I know We will help each other, blood is thicker than water more than anything else.

I actually REALLY love this approach to things! Blood is thicker than water and it should be a norm for family to help one another... but you are right, this is not always the case in Western culture.

This was a great read, thank you for sharing!

Sort:  
 5 months ago 

thank you for reading, cultural differences always exist. We respect the culture of our own country and understand the culture of other countries. This is a good way of communication.

Respect is pretty much key to the success of ANY interactions between humans :)

and it was my pleasure to read @pinkcastle!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69647.78
ETH 3689.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.23