DIY Recycled Glove Animals

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

image.png

image.png

A while back, I was happy to give this lone glove a home. it belonged to a friend who was throwing it out. And yesterday I happened to find this colorful pair of children's gloves at an op shop.

image.png

I was inspired by a drawing that I saw on Pinterest. I made another drawing of it; it's the one on the left. But my gloves have the thumbs set over the first finger. So I had to rethink the animal parts.

image.png

Wherever you left it, what you have is one glove with no match. Woo-hoo! I smell a crafting opportunity!

I used the thumb as the tail. Because I left the legs long, I had to use a bit of the cuff to make the ears. Because the legs were so long, I folded them up and tacked them so my animal could sit. By the time I had made the head, I could see this little critter was becoming a little mouse.

image.png

The colorful children's gloves were a little more difficult. The weave was a bit larger while the actual glove pieces were smaller. The tail was not exactly in the middle of the back. The head piece was rather narrow.

No worries! I used some fingers from the second glove and made it a dragon!

Then I added some buttons and a bit of embroidery floss whiskers for the mouse and now I have 2 little glove animals.

image.png

My advice is to just cut and sew, turn right sides out, stuff, and then see what your pieces suggest to you. Make handfuls of stocking stuffers! :) Just a little crafting humor there.

image.png

The dragon ended up having different patterns on the face because of the knitting on the glove. I LOVE it!

image.png

image.png

This is me and the little mouse watching Pollyanna while I sew. I have discovered loads of full movies on You Tube and I don't have a TV.

image.png

Sort:  

Hi, how cute, the crafts are very interesting and also good for our creativity. Greetings!!!

Thank you so much for the comment. I am glad you like my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65262.74
ETH 2937.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68