Tiny but Mighty | A Case for Marmosets as Apartment-Friendly Pets

in WORLD OF XPILAR6 months ago

Ever since I was a kid fascinated by Tarzan and King Louie from The Jungle Book, I've always dreamed of having my own petite primate pal. As an adult working long hours in the city, I never thought it would be practical or even legal. But one day while scrolling through social media, I came across ads for "apartment friendly" species of monkeys. Well, my inner child took over and the next thing I knew I had placed an order for a new furry friend.

640.jpg
Source :
That's how Halo, my tiny marmoset, joined me in my small but cozy downtown apartment. Luckily marmosets are one of the smallest New World monkeys and weigh around 4 ounces as adults. This made her a good candidate for small living spaces compared to larger monkey breeds. Her tiny size also meant smaller food portions, cages, toys, etc. Marmosets are also highly social animals, so her bubbly personality helped make up for the lack of monkey playmates in my one bedroom flat.

641.jpg
Source :
The first challenge was monkey-proofing my home to make it safe. I had to secure any electrical wires, remove fragile items, lock cleaning supplies and install child safety locks on cabinets and drawers. Her habitat also needed to be completely secure with no risk of her escaping. I chose a large "halo" style habitat resembling a cylindrical birdcage that provided room to climb and play while preventing her from roaming freely in the home and getting into trouble. The halo design allowed for enhanced air flow too.

642.jpg
Source :
When it comes to diet, marmosets are primarily insectivores that eat things like mealworms, crickets and fruit in the wild. As a pet, I made sure to provide a balanced monkey food supplemented with fruits, vegetables, proteins and calcium. Fresh food needs to be available at all times along with clean water. Their tiny stomachs only hold a pea-size amount at a time, so multiple small feedings throughout the day are best. Cleaning the habitat, changing papers and disinfecting all surfaces on a regular schedule is also a must for hygiene.

643.jpg
Source :
Another tip is choosing a docile species like a marmoset that is naturally calm and quiet. Larger, nocturnal monkeys could be too boisterous or disruptive in close quarters. With ample attention, affection, toys and mental stimulation, Halo has proven to be the perfect pet to keep me company in my apartment. Two years later, she still brings me endless amusement with her antics and charm. So if you're patient, committed and properly research species and care, who says you can't have a little monkey love even without a jungle backyard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62352.72
ETH 2953.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62