You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who has access to your account, has it been hacked?

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

Very timely post. I recently fell victim to a phishing airdrop scam and lost control of my account for about 2 1/2 weeks. Luckily Steemit was able to recover my account for me. I was sick to my stomach for quite a while. And I lost about 1/4th of my holdings. But back in business and lessons learned, the hard way.

Sort:  

Please tell us more details to understand how these phishing scams work, What kind of airdrop? Did you give your private key?

 3 years ago 

Someone replied to a comment on a post of mine. It was to the popular APPICS community. Saying APPICS had an airdrop. I was super stupid and wasn't paying attention. When you clicked on the link you needed to log in. Unfortunately, my login used to be a private key. So they stole it and changed them and locked me out. If I was thinking I would have done more research. I think I was in a hurry that day doing something else, so didn't pay much attention to it.

what key did you use?
your Owner key?
or how did they shut you out?
VgA

 3 years ago 

It was an owner key, I think. It was whatever I had set up years ago when I opened the account. Again, I wasn't paying attention, haha. So they logged in with my key and changed everything. So I had to contact Steemit to recover my account. It took them a few weeks, but it worked.

stolen account recovery does that still work on steem?

we need a new upgrade to keychaqin or @vessel wallet by @jesta with easy revoke all buttons

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68418.37
ETH 3743.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65