You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ๐Ÿ’ฌ Promoting WOX's Top Commenters - Supporting Steemit's Vision Week #1

in WORLD OF XPILAR โ€ข 3 years ago

It's certainly been busy - I'm doing a lot less now than I did in the early months - this was a lot of work which I eventually couldn't do as much of any more. I still do the odd bit but I was getting 100 notifications per day which destroyed my spirit! I guess it's gone so well because I've tried to change things for the better across the whole platform ๐Ÿ™‚

Sort: ย 
ย 3 years agoย 

๐Ÿ˜ฑ 100 notifications a day is certainly a lot @the-gorilla I actually have seen posts of @datych in Mosquito Squishers moths ago. So Iโ€™m now glad that I also know you who got it all started. Iโ€™m sure that you got many more to really consider what they are doing and hopefully think twice before they just copy and paste content.

ย 3 years agoย 

When I first mentioned it, I was actually worried that nobody would care and that it wasn't something that bothered anybody - the 6th March 2021

It certainly pissed a few people off along the way!

ย 3 years agoย 

I totally get you @the-gorilla Thatโ€™s how it feels like when youโ€™re trying to change something for good. Itโ€™s great that many supported you in that endless fight. Looks like they were just waiting for the right person to make the move and they followed the lead.

ย 3 years agoย 

It went very well to start with - sc01 had the power to downvote the users with higher rewards or that used upvoting services. Then one day, the downvotes stopped (presumably they were told that they weren't allowed to downvote any more) and things got harder - the downvotes were a great deterrent and some of the bigger abusers stopped. Then it slowly became more and more of a grind as people expected you to do everything, more people tried to help but created more work than they prevented. So I decided to stop flagging every post and instead shift the focus to community leaders. Community leaders who don't do enough won't get the monthly community support program so it's a good incentive.

ย 3 years agoย 

That definitely isnโ€™t a one man job @the-gorilla I saw that you also had to do a lot of explaining as well and answer many questions which in the end of the day takes extra time on top of flagging posts. Even to flag a post involves lots of reading and investing I suppose before just hitting the red flag ๐Ÿšฉ Itโ€™s quite clever that you got the community leaders involved in fighting plagiarism too.

ย 3 years agoย 

There were a couple of reliable helpers, @datych was one of the best. But like you say, arguing took up as much time as investigating and the point at which you're highlighting $1,000 of pending payouts which nobody can do anything with, it feels pointless slapping some poor kid who's earning $0.02 with a notice and downvote.

ย 3 years agoย 

That all makes sense when you look at the big picture really @the-gorilla Itโ€™s still great that you raised awareness about plagiarism here. I hope that this at least made the regular contributors more certain that this platform is the right place to share their ideally exclusive content. There isnโ€™t such a thing as the safest place on Earth but knowing people like you read, investigate and are available to answer questions if needed I find reassuring enough. I remember @datych being very proud of his title in Mosquito Squishers ๐Ÿ”Ž

ย 3 years agoย 

And at the moment there seems to be a civil war between the Bangladeshi and Pakistani communities. So I thought it might be nice to do this...

image.png
Source

ย 3 years agoย 

I actually have seen posts of @datych in Mosquito Squishers

A pleasure to work with ๐Ÿ™‚

ย 3 years agoย 

Reliable, hard working and very patient he is. Always up for a research too @the-gorilla

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69603.16
ETH 3748.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75