🤔 Something Old, Something New, Being Borrowed and Feeling Blue 😔

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)

I've had a funny few weeks here on Steemit, I know I'm trying to do too much but it's fun (sometimes) and there are many thoughts swirling around in my head at the moment so I thought I'd take a bit of time to share some of them with you.

👇🏼 Source
image.png
Separator-blue.png

Where to begin 🤔 ...

When I joined World Of Xpilar, I decided that this was a community where I wanted to spend most of my time. I'd occasionally look at other communities and keep up with users that I've grown to like but I'd do my best to help this community's members and help the community grow. I wanted to focus on the positives - a community that would tackle the unsavoury elements and keep them out of sight, and support all of the Fantasy Sports Contest that I was running. It's all good.

Separator-blue.png

To continue this positivity, I decided that I could make a difference with my coding skills and set to work on writing Steemit a new front end. The long-term ambition being to get enough together to write a proposal to the @steem.dao and get some funding.

Initial progress was good. I was able to work with @steemchiller's API with little difficulty and found a template that looked decent and was easy to work with.

image.png
Separator-code.png

And then I became increasingly encapsulated by an old life and was seeing too much of what I didn't like. In writing the new front end and my "new-found" Steemit coding skills, I saw scams and unethical behaviour everywhere:

To name just a few. It made me sad.

So I looked around some more - many of the communities that were created to get Steemit's "Community of the Month" are now gone which came as little surprise. I thought I'd discuss this with an old friend to discover that since exchanging Christmas Greetings, he'd powered down and left the platform 😢 Is it inevitable that the people we've grown to like eventually power down and leave? It made me sadder.

Separator-blue.png

This all made me realise how important the rejuvenation of Mosquito Squishers and the work of @ac-cheetah is.

It's beginning to look like there are more scammers on the platform than there are honest users and whilst my new front-end can hide a lot of this, I started to wonder what I'd be left with if I did.

👇🏼 Source
image.png
Separator-yellow.png

It's not all doom and gloom though - I've probably covered "Something Old" and "Feeling Blue" (mostly) and just threw "Being Borrowed" in there for no good reason. So on to "Something New"...

Hidden amongst all of the shit, there are some great authors writing great content and working beyond their own desires for a better, greater Steemit. But how do you find them or do you wait for them to find you?

@o1eh recently wrote this post about his experience preparing to be a steemcurator (have a read if you haven't already done so) and one paragraph in particular stood out:

I looked through 32 posts, checked them for plagiarism and #club5050, but did not find any worthy support. It was a shock to me. Then I realized how difficult the work of a steemcurator is.

With a steemcurator01 reply of:

Welcome to the world of bigger curation 😀

And then the inevitable steemcurator01 brown noser:

wow this is really really amazing

Resisting the temptation to downvote the brown noser, I took it upon myself to help a bit more.

Separator-blue.png

The "Top Commenters" initiative was designed to increase interaction and highlight those users who not only post content themselves, but take the time to interact with others. So perhaps I could use the same idea to judge posts...

A post's rewards are supposed to be an indicator of its quality, of how "liked" it is but we know this isn't the case. So is there a better way of highlighting posts that people like? I believe that there is, and this is where comments and another new persona come in. You might have missed it...


Separator-yellow.png

@icymi is a user who looks at posts nearing payout and ranks them by the quality and quantity of comments (similar to how the "Top Commenters" algorithm works), with plenty of additional rules. The idea being that it highlights posts that other people like enough to engage with comments. It's also a reminder of posts you may already have looked at that have had additional engagement since you moved on.

I've currently got it running in 6 communities and hope to continue expanding it into more and would appreciate feedback. Please let me know if you're within a community where supporting its members in this way appeals to you.

Separator-blue.png

Another user I've created is designed to directly help curators - whether that's steemcurators or anybody who's simply looking for "High Effort" content from users committed to growing their account - @curator-helper


Separator-blue.png

I'm aware that "effort" can take many forms and mine is perhaps a crude interpretation of it but this user is designed to help manual curators find content fitting a specific group of tags. It only highlights users who have not made a withdrawal for 12 weeks (roughly 3 months - i.e. #club100) and has more rules and blacklists than I can remember.

Interestingly, some of the top posts highlighted in the early "editions" were subsequently upvoted by steemcurator01 so by supporting some of these authors, you may well also be maximising your curation rewards.

Please let me know if there's a list of tags that you're interested in curating and I'll see about creating a list of articles for your needs.

Footer-Top-blue.png

I've rambled on enough, probably missing some important thing that I wanted to share with you but we are limited by how many hours we have in a day and I've consumed enough of yours and my time.

Thank you for reading. As always, I'm interested in hearing your thoughts.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

I want to thank you again for your work!

I know that this post will be read by many people, so I want to add a little. The lists of posts created by @curator-helper are extremely helpful. I believe that such a list should be created for each curatorial team.

But this does not mean that curators have nothing to do now. I went through several lists. These lists are material that makes work easier.

Firstly. If you use a list, you can't be biased against one community, because the script selects all quality posts, regardless of community.

Second. All posts from the list should be checked for plagiarism. I haven't seen any plagiarism yet, but the #steemexclusive tag is misused.

Third. The script selects only the posts of the authors who are in the club100. It chooses correctly, I checked. But there are other posts that are worth supporting. Therefore, if you are a curator and use these lists, you should supplement them.

Fourth. Now, thanks to these lists, it is much easier for me to find posts to support. Two hours are enough for me. In two hours I have 15 posts that I would like to support. Now I could be a curator every day, but my day is only Saturday :)

In my opinion, SC01 could also use these lists. Proof of the fact that they mentioned quality posts is that when I first selected 5 posts from the list, the next day they all was supported by SC01. I had to start over :)

 2 years ago 

#lucky10 😉

 2 years ago 

If it's interesting to you and if you considered it necessary, then with your script, you can compile a list of authors of the WOX community that are in the club100, club75 and club5050. I think that for this almost unnecessary change in the code, only use the community tag.

In addition, you are a moderator and you can pin post with a list. Maybe it would have eased SC01 and other curators work in such a large community.

Hallo @oleh

The #club50-100 is community Counterproductive brings envy and dissatisfaction because usually the same users are only taken into account and also users who are not in a community are often overlooked. In addition, the big vote is often disproportionate to the contribution.

With such votes, you could pay developers who really advance the Steem!
My opinion.

Der #club50-100 ist community Kontraproduktiv bringt Neid und Unzufriedenheit weil meist die selben User nur berücksichtigt werden und zudem User die nicht in einer Gemeinschaft sind oft übersehen werden zudem steht das Big Vote oft in keinem Verhältnis zum Beitrag.
Mit solchen Votes könnte man Entwickler bezahlen die den Steem wirklich voran bringen !
Meine Meinung .
VgA

 2 years ago 

This initiative encourages authors to build their accounts and in the future they will be able to support each other. Maybe it's not perfect. Any solution has advantages and disadvantages. Unfortunately, no one has offered a better one yet.

 2 years ago (edited)

How many accounts should that be 200 maybe?

And how many do you think a power down when the steemcurator stops his votes.

Oleh most see in the club tags only an easy way to fill their wallet in this way no one is tied to the steem.

I have been on the steem since January 2018 and have only met a few users who see themselves "really" connected to steem. The best example was the founding of Hive and how the users who were supposedly so connected to Steem changed. They just traveled after the doller or acquaintance.

I would also like a big vote of Steemcurator01, I'm also happy with money, but I say no to these clubtags because they are not conducive to steem!

Wieviel Accounts sollten das sein 200 vielleicht?
Und wieviele machen wohl ein Power down wenn der steemcurator seine Votes einstellt .
Oleh die meisten sehen in den Club Tags nur eine einfache Möglichkeit ihre Wallet zu füllen auf diese Art und Weise wird niemand an den Steem gebunden .
Ich bin seit Januar 2018 auf dem Steem und habe nur wenig User kennen gelernt die sich „wirklich“ steemverbunden sehen . Das beste Beispiel war die Gründung von Hive und wie die User gewechselt haben die doch angeblich so Steemverbunden waren. Sie sind einfach dem doller oder Bekannten hinterher gereist .

Mir würde auch ein Bigvote des Steemcurator01 gefallen , ich bin auch froh mit Geld , aber ich sage nein zu diesen clubtags weil sie nicht förderlich für den steem sind!
VgA

 2 years ago 

Maybe I don't fully understand you. If SC01 stops clubs, will it be better for the platform?

Attracted by the big votes, users write because of the votes and many no longer communicate but only think about the next post to only often use the tags club50/50/75/100. Smaller votes more in width would be better or completely set and the big votes for developers who continue to develop the platform the community leader, mots have work of plagiarism because attracted by the big votes

Chriddi has already written you a lot about it

Angezogen durch die Bigvotes schreiben User wegen der Votes und viele kommunizieren nicht mehr sondern denken nur an den nächsten Post um nur oft die tags club50/50/75/100 nutzen . Kleiner Votes mehr in die Breite wären besser oder ganz einstellen und die Big votes für Entwickler nutzen die die Platform weiter entwickeln die Community leader, mots haben Arbeit von Plagiaten weil angezogen von den Big Votes
Chriddi hat dir ja dazu auch schon einiges geschrieben
VgA

 2 years ago 

The club75 and club5050 are much more difficult to figure out at the moment because I can't really calculate how much is powered up or how much is transferred for contest prizes. If I can figure it out at some point, then I can add it in 🤔

 2 years ago 

Then it is better not to bother. I don't think it's very useful. Curators check clubs anyway.

You know that it is never good to do many things the same time, you can't concentrate on one and that sometimes for example in my case makes me very irritable :)

Nevertheless you can now see how much badness there, I have no idea to get control over it and make people to do the right thing. But it is Internet, freedom and people can do what they do.

The why how ac-cheetah and it's Downvote trial works is just fighting against Windmills´as Don quixote, like one of such user who has been downvoted daily, still hat more than 3$ after all the downvote trial, the user who are in there just loosing their Power and the abuser do not notice it, it is like a little annoying mosquito.

Anyway, I am glad that you have so many ideas and I hope that you will make it work!

 2 years ago 

You know that it is never good to do many things the same time, you can't concentrate on one and that sometimes for example in my case makes me very irritable :)

I concentrate on one thing at a time - just not for very long 😆

I don't know what to say about the scammers - I fear that we're past the tipping point of being able to stop them and even with the power that ac-cheetah has been able to accumulate, he can't take down everyone. Somebody once said to me (within an anti-Sun rant):

You would need 30 million not 1 million to deal with that although you would probably not last long.

I fear they're correct and the 30 million today, will need to be 50 million in 12 months time.

Ignorance is bliss

Danke für deine Arbeit und Einsatz für die Community STEEM!!!
Das Problem mit den tags ist sobald es was gibt stürzten sich die Geier auf die tags als wenns morgen nichts mehr gäbe.

Thank you for your work and commitment to the STEEM community!!!

The problem with the tags is as soon as there is something, the vultures rushed to the tags as if there were nothing left tomorrow.
VgA

 2 years ago 

Bitte schön 🙂

The problem with the tags is as soon as there is something, the vultures rushed to the tags as if there were nothing left tomorrow.

Too true.

ViralhogSeagullsGIF (2).gif

👍Perfect the same picture just like that
VgA

@the-gorilla With so many ideas in your head, anyone explodes, you still have potential, with your publication it made me think about what is behind each community, I am just beginning and I like it a lot, I need to read and instruct myself, your publication is very interesting. Greetings.

 2 years ago 

Thank you... and yes, my head does feel a bit like this sometimes 🤯

I don't know much about what you are writing about. 'Old' account but started writing more actively not that long ago. The thing I know is it eats time and it's hard to join more than one community.
I don't have much time to.spend here so.

It sounds as if this platform needs a bit help, old communities deleted if they are abandoned but I have no idea how to do that.

It's sad these scammers can't be fought. If there are too many the good ones will leave?

So far my thoughts.
I wish you a great day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67629.08
ETH 3788.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56