#club100💪||Betterlife ||The Diary Game||21-06-2022 ||The Engineer's Room -Safety Meeting, Supervising My Colleagues To Remove Insulation From Electrical Cable Using Pliers , Connecting A Plug With 3 Core Cable With Good Termination||#club100💪

in Steem Ghana2 years ago

Good evening steemians. I hope you are doing well. I am gratified to share with you my diary activities.

Today I got to the work place at 6:51 am. I went to the canteen to buy food. I swapped the tungsten and entered the working area. I washed and sanitised my hands and then went to where I kept my working clothing. I picked my personal protective equipment including helmet, safety glass and gloves. I quickly went to the workshop to observe safety meeting, afterwards my colleagues and I cleaned some of the machines in the workshop. Maintenance of the equipment is very important, it keeps dirt away and makes the machines operative and it also ensure long span of the equipment.

Right after the safety meeting and tidying of the workshop, I took my breakfast and studied one of my training modules until I was tasked to supervise my colleagues to perform practical in the training room. I grouped my colleagues into two groups. The practical was all about cable peeling using Pliers , connecting a plug with 3 core cables. I first explained in details on how to select cables. Cables are selected based on the maximum current of the installation circuit, Current carrying capacity of the cable, voltage drop and environmental factors. The plug to be connected is rated 13 A ( 13 amperes) hence a cable size of 2.5 millimeter square was selected. The cable is in 3 cores which has a colour code of red, black and yellow/green. Each colour has it own function. The colour code is standard which engineers follow in order not to create confusion. British standard are used at work place. I provided plug, 3 core cable, Pliers, cutter and a screw driver for the practical.

IMG_20220621_131502_531.jpg

Rebecca Practicing on how to remove insulation from a cable

IMG_20220621_150823_054.jpg

@anas354 demonstrating on how to connect the 3 core cable and the electrical plug

I demonstrated to them how to go about the practical by removing the insulation of the cable to the correct size and then connected the cable to the plug. Each and every one tried on it. Initially they found it difficult to remove the insulation from the cable but with continuous practice, it became easy for them. The next thing I did was termination. Termination is very important in electrical installation, it makes the work neat and also prevent the bare cables from touching each other in order to prevent short circuit.

IMG_20220621_113423_907.jpg

Taking practical items from store

The session was very interactive and interesting. It came to and end at 3:00 pm.

Thank you for your support. I love you all

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Waoow such a day . You look good in your working custome. Keep working hard. Steem on!

😀🎉🎉

 2 years ago 

Thank you

 2 years ago 

The work of engineers, highly admirable, you guys be doing amazing things i can't even begin to fathom.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your visit

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @abiga554
r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

 2 years ago 

Thank you for the support

Screenshot_20210716-110835_2.jpg
Your post has been curated by @njaywan with our @steem-ghana Community Curation Trail

JOIN US ON TELEGRAM

JOIN US ON DISCORD CHAT

Support us by delegating STEEM POWER to our Community account through the following links:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71148.50
ETH 3780.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78