"Motherhood is the greatest thing and the hardest thing.” | My Experience and Learnings from 'Safe Motherhood Day'!

in SteemWomen Club3 years ago

Yesterday was 'Safe Motherhood day'. It was also 'Menstrual Hygiene Day' too. You may wonder, why both of them are on the same date!

My husband actually asking me this question while we were watching the news together. I paused for a second and give answered him. He said that it's the best possible answer.

I believe motherhood and menstruation are so much connected, we can't talk about one skipping the other. We all know, we still have some taboos and myths about menstruation, we don't feel comfortable talking about it. But as long as we don't come up with a better Menstrual Hygiene solution we can't ensure safe motherhood.

vv.jpg
Me and my son

There are thousands of data about how women are facing issues during childbirth. There are a lack of prenatal care, lack of knowledge about pregnancy, mental health-related to it, and so on.

My Experience!

I wouldn't say, I'm well educated on safe motherhood. I'm a first-time mom so there were many things that I didn't know and still am not aware of. I'm learning, educating, and increasing my knowledge too. I have to go through C-Section. But I strongly believe if I knew what I know now; I may not choose this hard process rather natural childbirth.

I had to go through postpartum depression for about 8 months. Our marital relations got affected, my bonding with my son got affected. It felt like I was falling apart...

It was hard in every way, there was not much support around.

And people usually think that motherhood is about childbirth. They don't think the rest. The heardest journey actually begins after. That's why I think, we should make ourselves aware of Motherhood before getting pregnant or planning about it!

mother-429158_1920.jpg
img

What can we do from our end?

Educate yourself and others as much as you can about-

  • Safe motherhood, pregnancy, all the issues, what can be; every information about mtoherhood.

  • Prenatal care (care during pregnancy) so that you can seek help and help others too.

  • Mental and physical health of the mother.

  • Everything about childbirth, abortion, and things related to it.

This is not everything, there are many things; I'm still learning.

This message is not just to women, who are married, who are pregnant. NO. This message for all!

As long as we fail to arrange a better environment and ensure safe motherhood, we will be failing to ensure a better generation.

1.png

Hi!
If you are a parent, to be a parent, or have interests in parenting, you can join the Parent Club community. You are most welcome to share your ideas & experiences about parenting or you can simply hang out with the other parents of Steemit there!

Four contests are running in the community.

  1. Win 10 Steem | Share your concept about 'Ideal Parenting'
  2. Win 30 Steem just by subscribing to the Community!
  3. Win 30 Steem for Introducing yourself to the Community
  4. Describing how your child's life would be if he grew up watching you continue the long path of growth in steemit

Join us!

1.png

Hive Steem Footer.gif

Twitter Discord

Sort:  

Postpartum depression is so real and extremely bad. We really need to educate first-time moms and their spouses.

 3 years ago 

I wish I would know more earlier. And that's why I feel the need to aware others of it.
Thanks :)

You have well described your idea dr.. Mother is the first teacher of any child. As you said if you were fail to create a good environment , your child's future wouldn't be ensured

 3 years ago 

Good to see we have similar thoughts on this.
Thanks :)

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Great idea you have given and you are working hard.Keep up the good work. Good luck to you.

 3 years ago 

Thanks for your appreciations :)

Welcome dear 🤗

amiga muy buena e interesante su ponencia, ser madre implica mucho. saludos desde venezuela , cuento con su apoyo.

 3 years ago 

Thanks for your appreciations :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57019.68
ETH 2888.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61