CLUB5050// ๐‘พ๐‘ฏ๐‘จ๐‘ป๐‘ฌ๐‘ฝ๐‘ฌ๐‘น ๐’€๐‘ถ๐‘ผ ๐‘ซ๐‘ถ, ๐‘ซ๐‘ถ๐‘ต'๐‘ป ๐‘ฉ๐‘ฌ ๐‘ต๐‘ฐ๐‘ช๐‘ฌ! By @yuceetoria

in SteemWomen Club โ€ข 2 years ago (edited)

IMG-20220221-WA0185.jpg

Are you shocked?

Once upon a time, I was a nice girl.
I would do anything you want me to do, even to my detriment.
I didn't have a mind of my own and couldn't speak up even when it hurt me.

Thanks to my elder sister, she pushed me. It irked her when someone trambles on what was rightfully mine, or I carry out a task that doesn't add up.

I can still hear her voice in my head as she speaks in anger.

'Uche, what is wrong with you? For once speak up for yourself.
The people talking to you, are they with two heads? Abi God glued your mouth. He gave you the mouth for a reason, so use it.

And like the saying,

"you can take a camel to the river but you cannot force the camel to drink water". I was the camel.

Yes, don't be nice because nice people never really step out of their comfort zone because they want to please everyone they come across.

Read the words of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie as she addressed the 2022 Yale Law School Graduates.

In her words,
Do not be nice. Be kind, because kindness is a measure of our humanity, but do not be #nice.

Nice means wanting always to be liked.
Nice is silencing inconvenient truth.
Nice is choosing always to be comfortable.
Nice means letting go of courage.
Nice means talking about peace but not justice.
Nice will not remake the world, and there is so much of our world that needs remaking.

While you bravely remake the world, please be skeptical of perfection.
Because perfection among other things is utterly boring.

There is no such thing as a perfect human being. The longing for perfection will hold you back. It doesn't help any cause to start with perfection as a yardstick. You do not need to be perfect before you can do what is right.

learn-how-say-no-note-illustration_53876-8263.jpg

Not being nice is learning to say NO.
Not being nice is being selfish for a while.
Not being nice is helping someone of your freewill, not forced to do it.
Not being nice is learning figuring out your strength and how best regards supplement you in other affairs of your life.
Not being nice is searching within and not seeing things at face value only.
Not being nice is fulfilling your destiny and purpose on earth without being shackled with unnecessary burden.

Be kind, but don't lose your yourself

Do you relate to her speech?

Thank you for visiting my blog, I will like to know your thoughts on this.

#learnwithsteem #steemwomensclub #lifestyle #writing #club5050

Sort: ย 
ย 2 years agoย 

Hello @yuceetoria

These are words of wisdom and absolutely right. In the world we live in today, people take advantage of your niceness to jilt you. Also, sometimes we just have to put our foot down and say no.
People will not be able to walk over us anyhow.

Thank you for this golden reminder

ย 2 years agoย 

Often we forget who we are in a bid to help other people.
Thank you for reading through @ebunoluwani

ย 2 years agoย 

Yes

Thank you for the timely post

ย 2 years agoย 

Wow I have never thought about this before, yes when you are nice you will be discouraged and people will treat you anyhow they like but where you are good you will be bold at all time

ย 2 years agoย 

We need to learn to say no. Thank you for visiting my blog

ย 2 years agoย 

Very well informative post. We should learn to speak no sometimes if we are not comfortable with things or persons we can say no. Sometimes saying no can make you a better person. I am happy to read your article. Thank you for sharing

ย 2 years agoย 

It is necessary. Thank you for visiting my blog

ย 2 years agoย 

I never knew the word nice means all this thank you for sharing, but it is good to be bold so as to express yourself thanks to your sis who coached you well. For your tags I think the most important one should come first to enable the curators see your post, #learnwithsteem or #lifestyle and #life any of this should be the first to enable the curators to see this post and support it, #nice is not a tag used by curators so it should come last in your post I guess. Thank you for sharing this with us here โฃ๏ธโฃ๏ธโฃ๏ธ

ย 2 years agoย 

Thank you very much for the corrections. Let me make the necessary corrections.

ย 2 years agoย 

๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—

ย 2 years agoย 

Be kind, but don't lose your yourself

This is such a powerful statement!
So often we forget who we are. Be true to yourself at all times!
Thank you for sharing with us.

ย 2 years agoย 

Thank you ma'am @patjewell for visiting my blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55