0000000000000010 - Steemchiller's API - Getting Started

image.png
Separator-code.png

As some of you know, I run an initiative within World Of Xpilar to support the community's 💬 Top Commenters. Every 2 weeks, I would scroll through all of the posts within the community then record every single comment made in order to determine the users who are the most active. As I'm sure that you can imagine, this is was a rather time consuming job. Luckily for me, I've got my PHP Dev. Environment set up now so why not play about with steemchiller's API and save myself plenty of hours.

Separator-code.png

My intention was to use the "getCommentsByTagCreated" API but it didn't return the data that I needed (which could be a bug in the API for steemchiller to look in to at the weekend🪲). So I needed a workaround which involved getting all of the posts in World Of Xpilar (up to a certain date) using "getPostsByTagCreated" API, seeing which authors had created posts and then looping through the comments on those posts instead using "getCommentsByParentAuthor" API.

It was a bit of a long winded way of doing it but it was better to spend the time writing code rather than opening countless posts!

Over 2,000 posts written by nearly 500 authors needed analysing and it took a few minutes for my finished script to run, providing me with an ordered table of WOX's Top Commenters.

Untitled-1.png
Separator-code.png

I wasn't quite satisfied yet though. When it comes to automated scripts, there's always somebody who tries to cheat the system so I added a link to manually check the output as well as a link to the user's profile showing me all of the comments, their length as well as comments in other communities.

image.png
Separator-code.png

Functional. Certainly not sexy.

tenor.gif
Separator-code.png

A day of coding, familiarising myself with steemchiller's APIs and saving @future-gorilla loads of time that he can spend watching football or doing some exercise - something that @historic-gorilla hasn't done enough of recently.

Now that I've got this up and running, I'm feeling much more confident that I can get an HTML / CSS template populated fairly quickly 🤞

Sort:  

Definitely getting hot in here 🥵 sexier than 'hello steemit'
btw I was wondering what is going to happen after decimal number 65535 or 1111111111111111 😉

tenor.gif

I was wondering what is going to happen after decimal number 65535 or 1111111111111111 😉

10000000000000000 of course 😆

I don't know about the coding stuff, but I'm glad you made the commenter ranking process easy. It was a seriously time-consuming process. Also, your detailed review of the comments is proof of the fairness of this initiative. Thanks for your hard work :)

Thank you 👍 It was a lot of effort to maintain which is much simpler now 🙂

really interested

[WhereIn Android] (http://www.wherein.io)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69828.11
ETH 3825.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55