Steem Cameroon Poetry Contest Season 12 - (Desperation)

in Steem Cameroon2 years ago


Source Modified by me on Canva

Hello steaming Steemians, hope you are all kicking strong and steeming hard. It's always a pleasure having to participate in a contest. Such atmospheres have a way of bringing out creativity and triggering our thought processes making participants to create quality posts.

INTRODUCTION

Life in essence is a struggle. We have to struggle through school, struggle to get a job or career, struggle to get established, struggle in dealing with a spouse and family as a whole, struggle to bring forth children and to raise them, and at the end struggle to stay sane in the midst of all these struggles. Due to the fact that this struggle is real and goal oriented, the quest to succeed in what ever domain of struggle we've mentioned above and more becomes more eminent. When this quest to succeed is constantly faced with drawbacks, desperation sets in.

BODY

In my words, desperation is a psychological state of mind or of being, where a person hopelessly yearns to succeed in achieving a particular goal. This hopelessness therefore drives the person to do what ever it takes, good or bad, conventional or non conventional to succeed or to acquire something. To me, the feeling of desperation could be manifested positively or negatively depending on what direction the energy is driven:
Take the case where a second year (level 2) university student must validate all her courses, plus those carried over from level 1 before they can gain access to level 3; Let's call this student Prisca. Prisca decides to burn the midnight candles studying, forgoing parties, clubbing and other recreations to fully focus, because her parents won't pay an extra year in school. Prisca is therefore a desperate student whose energy is channeled positively or rationally towards succeeding. On the other hand, take another student , say Michka, who in the same situation as Prisca, decides to go monetize or sleep her way through the validation of the carried over and current courses so that she can succeed into level 3. Michka is equally a desperate student but whose energy is channeled negatively or irrationally towards succeeding.

I have been cornered at a point in my life when I had no choice but to succeed. I had just resigned from my first job after I had worked for 10years because I wasn't well treated, to being an entrepreneur. In this new sphere, there wasn't any free lunch😅. I had to be intentionally productive to earn a living. All I had to do was to invest myself physically, psychologically and emotionally towards doing all it took to succeed in this new sphere. Yes, I was desperately in need of success. I studied deeply on the subject, stayed up all night strategizing, organizing seminars, doing back to back presentations both physically and remotely, traveled round the country organizing seminars and supporting the team I was developing. I barely spent 1 week in my home for close to a year as I was alway on the move. When one strategy didn't work, I came up with another until it finally paid off. It wasn't easy but it was worth it. Desperation is an amazing energy if channeled rationally and can be destructive if oriented irrationally.

MY POEM - DESPERATION


Guided buy the passion
To build all the mansions,
I crammed up my stuff into a bag
And scurried out fast as I bragged
Little did I know I was trapped

Out of my confort zone I thrived
Breaking all the rules I strived
Just so I could be called monsieur
Not knowing that He that led was called Seigneur
Now I to lay down my crown and submit like a connaisseur


Arrogantly, I just find it difficult to stay submissive
In my quest, I'll rather be impulsive
And just when I'm about to impose my standards
Here comes a greusome tweet about all my scandals
My desperation took a toll on me
And now my mansions just became a mirage

Dear Steemians thank you for stopping by. I hope your visit was worth the salt. Stop by again soonest as I bring you more edifying write-ups.


@chiabertrand
@monjuapollonia
@nuahfabian
@wirngo
@metugejacy20
@b-naj
@wase1234

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

You sha are a good writer
Your posts always carry a lot of knowledge
I love your poem
Are you into poetry?

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your acknowledgement, it means a lot.
No, I'm not into poetry, not until i started trying my hand on it here on steemit.

Thank you for reading through and for your reaction.

 2 years ago 

Well steemit seems to have a good impact then

You are welcome 🤗

 2 years ago 

Yeah sure, I think steemit is bring out some sleeping talents I didn't know I had in me in me. I like what's happing anyways😊

Loading...
 2 years ago 

Nice writeup.Desperation come at times due to frustration and Energy wasted with no good wage paid.I think in a cost of seeing yourself too desperate you need to a Breath inorder to think we’ll before going in into something .When you are too desperate you might end up taking a wrong decision for life

 2 years ago 

Yeah that's another angle to it👌
Thank you for stopping by and for your rich contribution.

 2 years ago 

You are welcome

 2 years ago 

Desperation Desperation

Oh it's quite amazing how you flow with poetry and I'm quite astonished as you told me in one of your poetry post that you're not into it.

Entrepreneur is the future and the best business because family will inherit it. Though it's very tough in the beginning but it's always worth it at the end.

Keep up my dear friend

 2 years ago 

Thank you @monjuapollonia for your kind words of encouragement.
I appreciate your stopping over for a read.
Thank you🙏

 2 years ago 

You're welcome

 2 years ago 

Fully amaze , yes in logic reality as already illustrated an instanced . Desperation can get be of two , which is positive and negative . Here your post is indeed informative.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for stopping by

 2 years ago 

Same here.

That was wonderful creation from you.

 2 years ago 

Thank you @professor72.
Thank you for reading through

You are welcome ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70999.72
ETH 3678.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81