Piano Progress on Video | Month 5 | Pompeii

in DTube3 years ago


It was vacation but I actually had too much of a fever to be playing much of piano. So I have noticed playing an instrument takes the same amount of energy as working or studying. Better said, there wasn’t much room for it.



Pixabay

In my course I continued a bit on rehearsing the working on the C, D and F scales and now the G scale was added. Adding this in my mental vocabulary was actually easier than I had expected. It turns out that shifting between the scales and extending the thumb and pinky already was preparing me for this next step. All of a sudden the reading of the sheet was also not that difficult. An absolute winner I would say!

This is the power on how these courses work. You rehearse a lot of the older material and add in some small details every time and eventually it will all come together. I still notice that reading sheet music for the right hand is a lot easier than for the left hand and this needs more of my attention. It will sink in at some point, as long as I keep putting in the work.



Pixabay

Pompeii

I would call ‘Pompeii’ from Bastille the song of the week. And damn it took a while to figure it out. Already a couple of weeks back it passed me the first time and I just wanted to play and see what happened without having had the background already and it was hard. I was getting nowhere and decided to leave it again for a bit.

Now I came back to Pompeii when it was really the time for it in the course and eventually I mastered most of it. In the lead sheet there was the G, Dmajor, Bmajor and A major key in there for the left hand, and for the right hand there was Dscale and G scale in there which I had been practising.

Now the funny thing is when I think about when I was playing the song it goes superfast, but when I the video back, it is actually not that fast. My mind just made it a really fast song.

Here is how it works in the app which I use. Yes, the notes come by fast, but not that fast.

What I like most about these kinds of songs is that they are songs which you can actually use in real life. These are things that I would like to hear. If there is a grand piano at my work, and I want to play something to cheer up the patients, this would be something that they could like. (No worries, I do not have the idea that I am that good, it is just work in process). It is just an actual song, and that is what you eventually want to play.

We want to play the whole song, 2 or 3 minutes of full on attention and not just a riff of a chorus. This is what I want to be doing, and slowly I am starting to get there.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62177.56
ETH 2918.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66