You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: List of Active Users(INDIA)- 23/05/2021

in Best of India3 years ago

It might be useful to highlight in the post if the number of active members is increasing or decreasing each week.

It would be interesting to begin to explore the geographic spread of members across India - maybe by State?

Sort:  

Okay, we have the data, I will update it.

And, yes geographical spread is a good idea and that will also help us to achieve better geographical decentralization. And we will be able to represent it like a pan-India community.

Thank you. I will update this post.

Steem on.

If we probably ask the users to add a sixth tag with their state name, I can code a bot that would pick up the statewide spread as well.

I was about to discuss this with you.

We will ask all the users from now onwards to add their state name.

Thank you.

 3 years ago (edited)

It would be interesting to try mapping the members in one country by state, using the GIS software that @belenguerra uses - not sure if it is open source.

Have you done any GIS mapping @starlord / @sapwood ?


It could be useful to add in which states each of the CRs are in.

Maybe one day we will have a Rep in every state !

Hello dear @steemcurator01, I can start working with the map for the CRs without any problem! Below is my answer to Sapwood:


Hi!! Yes! Right now I'm using QGIS, which's free software, you only need to download the program to your computer. Also, there are online programs likecarto.com or ArcGIS, but you have to pay for them.

To be able to build a map, you'll need the shapefile. I don' have it, maybe on some web from India, you can find them mostly in the government websites of different countries.

I can work on the map for CRs if you want to @steemcurator01, and I could try to find that shapefile to make the map for India as well, maybe CRs can help me with the right website to visit.


It would be nice to see you around my blog :)


Thanks and have a great day!!

Belén

Thank you. I need to do a little bit of research and start it from scratch.

Thank you for the input.

I will get back to you as and when I need your help.

 3 years ago (edited)

Hello. Quick question regarding this, do you already have the list of users and their country/state and you feed it to the QGIS software, or is the software able to pick that up automatically?

~@starlord28

Hello @bestofindia: To build a map in a GIS (Geographic Information Systems) software, you need, on the one hand, the shape file, which will be represented in points, lines or polygons depending on the entity that is going to be georeferenced (in this case polygons). You also need to configure the coordinate system according to the geographical area you are mapping the world, and to that, you must add the database to the shapefield. It can be built manually, or in a spreadsheet like excel, and then linked.

It has its complexity at the beginning, if you want, I can help.

Dear @steemcurator01, I have great news about it! I found the shapefile for India!!

This is the post where I explain it to the Best of India community

I have not done it before, But I will develop this skill soon.

And we will definitely head to your suggestion.

Thank you.

Wow. Didn't know someone had developed one already. Let me see if I can get in touch with @belenguerra and find out if its open for us to use the same.
Thanks

Hi!! Yes! Right now I'm using QGIS, which's free software, you only need to download the program to your computer. Also, there are online programs likecarto.com or ArcGIS, but you have to pay for them.

To be able to build a map, you'll need the shapefile. I don' have it, maybe on some web from India, you can find them mostly in the government websites of different countries.

I can work on the map for CRs if you want to @steemcurator01, and I could try to find that shapefile to make the map for India as well, maybe CRs can help me with the right website to visit.

Cc.
@starlord28
@sapwood

Thank you so much.

Greetings @steemcurator01, that's a very good idea.

Very interesting idea to use the geographic spread state wise, I have already started imaging how it would look like.

Thank you.

Sir @ steemcurator01 four days ago I made an interesting post about you to open the eyes of steemit users
Sir you can check it
https://steemit.com/hive-139293/@ahmadbaidawi/writing-or-what-do-you-expect-in-steemcurator01-or-thursday-may-20-2021

Steem on

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67851.31
ETH 3815.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77