You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First Rule In Running a Small Business: Have enough human capital

in Steem Skillshare2 years ago

At your school, did they offer courses in marketing? If so, are you friends with someone?

I have additional thoughts but I need to go to sleep now. I have a lot of food preparation that I need to do early in the morning.

Sort:  

Yes I have a friend in the marketing department. Okay, thanks. I would like to read what you have to tell me.

 2 years ago 

When I would start a course, I would ask the students to point at Balaclava. They would invariably point in all directions. First, none of them knew the destination (Balaclava is an obscure hamlet north of where I would give the classes) but if they did, they would need to know where they were to start with. When you are in the classroom, could you point north?

Where is your Balaclava? Do you know where you want to be in ten years' time? That is a serious question.

Where are you now? What skills and strengths do you have now? Bill Gates did now create the first Microsoft DOS. He knew some guys who had written the code for a DOS and bought it from them. His strength lay in that he convinced IBM to put this DOS on all of the computers (initially for free). Once it was on most computers, he made his money on the upgrades.

He knew what resources he had. He identified that IBM would be willing to put his software on all their computers.

There is another consideration. Never take advice from a person who doesn't have a vested interest in your welfare. If I can give you advice that is helpful, pay me 1% of your gross income. I will reinvest it in your company, but it might help to say that you are partnered with a Canadian company. Also when you make $Billion, I will be able to afford to buy you a really nice bottle of champagne.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68512.18
ETH 3825.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66