And So It Ends...And Begins...

in #hive4 years ago

pdxlove25.jpg

What a wild month it's been...

Like most, I've watched the unfolding of things between Steemit & Tron with invested curiosity – sometimes in full participation (like the several consecutive days of 6+ hour town hall discussions on PAL and our impressive twitter storm) – sometimes only passively (due to personal distractions) – the whole time hoping for some mutually agreeable outcome.

Being a natural diplomat, I suppose I believed we'd find a way forward that didn't necessitate such drastic measures as hard-forking to a sister chain. Yet; here we are.

As days turned into weeks and the impasse only grew more stubbornly deadlocked, I became increasingly less optimistic. Still, even as the first whispers of an imminent, as yet un-named Hive reached my ears – I imagined I'd remain true to my Ziplomat nature, with one foot firmly on each side.

However inactive I've been for the past many moons, the STEEM blockchain still held my heart. Rather, the people; its many and varied communities – its wild-West, 'anything can happen' freedom – its immeasurable potential...these things kept me around, even if only peripherally. I wasn't about to give up on the idea of it.

Then, this happened...


hyampom232.jpg


Justin Sun made the choice for me.

Whatever hope I had that he might be the champion we'd needed – that he might lend his considerable influence to properly marketing STEEM – the last of it evaporated entirely as I read that post yesterday.

While I don't claim to comprehend everything about blockchain technology, I know enough to grasp his unmistakeable error.

It all comes down to one word...'censorship'.

Justin's unfortunate decision to hide all posts related to or making mention of Hive effectively destroyed what I understand to be the most basic tenets of blockchain; integrity, transparency, inclusivity and, most importantly, governance by consensus rather than a singular, privatized interest.

This feels a hell of a lot more like dictatorship than decentralization. Definitely not what I signed up for 2+ years ago.


Just....NO.

I have no desire to transact on a platform where my voice may be amplified or stifled according to the whims of one, powerful billionaire.

Period.


bali2.jpg


Bittersweet

So, there we are; all abuzz in our brand-new hive, wings peppered with pollen, all waxy feet and honey lips on this, the first day of spring. How very apropos.

While I'm excited by the newness of Hive – drawn to its unknowable future – heartened by the enthusiasm its launch has sparked in our community – this is a bittersweet transition.

Feels a bit like I'm simultaneously slicing into a birthday cake with one hand and placing flowers on a grave with the other.

I may need a little time to grieve this place – to acknowledge all that it gave me – before I can fully embrace this change.

Though I might take a moment to truly land, to find my bearings in our fledgling colony – I trust I'll get my bee-legs eventually.


See ya 'round, Steemit.

Until we meet again,
xo • zippy


2020copyright.jpg

Sort:  

Once I get up the ambition to start posting again, it will be on the hive network...

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 109 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Sometimes, change is not something we choose, it is forced upon us by circumstances we have no control over.

I remind myself of this: Although we have a "loss" here, the creation of — and migration to — HIVE may end up representing a true watershed moment in the history of decentralization as a concept: A group of independent minded people proved that it is possible to take on a type of "big korporate" entity and leave them with little more than a pile of useless rubble. Steem is... very little, without its community.

=^..^=

i love macro, u get a resteem #pypt

read all of the text; I agree with you. and probably there is much more data out of focus that we are not aware of (yet). so, see you on the Hive side!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62934.82
ETH 3119.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86