Sort:  

You have your own rail road? That is cool! Do the little kids get to ride on it??

Loved your open mic tonight!! Thank you for sharing!!!

Thank you!
There aren't any little kids around to rid on the railroad, just me, the big kid...LOL

I still think this is the greatest thing ever!

I would love to have a train pulling a garden all around my property some day. I love it!

Thank you!
I have to admit, having a train car with a garden bed on it would be pretty cool!

🌱👍☀

Are you going to build up the flatcar with some theming?

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, tight now I just use the flatcar for hauling ballast gravel for the railroad. I want to build another car that's a bit bigger than the little one that I have now. This picture is from last year.
DSCN9026.JPG

dat looks fun, but way a lotta work. i want to see the "train" cart nao.

Yes, it does get to be a lot of work sometimes.
I'll have to take a decent picture of the flatcar for my next post about this project. I thought I had a picture of me on the car but I can't find it.

Excellent overview @amberyooper and your railway looks amazing, this is a very interesting structure!

Soooo...
When are you getting the scale, working snow plow for your train?

and the gravel cars?

Not much point in a snowplow, it's too cold to be outside when you might need that. LOL
The gravel cars...well I certainly could use one of those, just have to build one. The main problem with this size railroad is that everything is so expensive. A machined wheel for this size is at least 25 bucks each, and you need 2 per axle, so it adds up fast. If I was able to machine the wheels myself, it would cost a lot less.

$25 each?

I should start making wheels!

Wheels would be a fairly decent first project on a mini-lathe.

Yes, it probably would be a good project on a mini lathe, as long as it can handle a large enough diameter piece to turn the wheels from. You can find the IBLS wheel shape standards on line. That's what most of the ride on railroad wheels are cut to.
Also, you can buy the rough wheel castings for a lot less if you can turn them yourself. Most of the wheels for 7-1/2 gauge track are around 4-1/4 to 4-1/2 half inches diameter.
There is also a smaller gauge of ride on railroad, it's 4-3/4 inches between the rails and represents 1/12th scale. The wheels are smaller for that. People ride on special cars with seats on them that are pulled behind scale size engines, some of which are live steam. Of course, live stean involves serious amounts of money, where a battery driven electric locomotive is a lot less expensive.

Do you like steel, aluminum or brass wheels?

Do they come pressed onto the axel?

Generally, either iron or steel wheels are used with 7-1/2 inch gauge due to the weight that the cars can carry. Aluminum is ok for 4-3/4 inch gauge. I would imagine that brass would be ok also, but I don't know of any brass wheels in the large sizes, probably due to the cost.
You can buy wheel sets that are assembled, the wheels pressed onto an axle, or you can buy the machined parts, or you can buy the raw part, depending on how much work you want to do.
Most of the manufactured rail used for 4-3/4 inch gauge and 7-1/2 inch gauge railroads is made from hardened aluminum, but some people make their own rail using steel bar stock. 1 inch tall steel rail is available, but it's about twice as expensive as the aluminum rail and a lot heavier, so harder to deal with in 10 foot long sections. Then there's shipping costs for it...

Congratulations @amberyooper! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 18000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 19000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 89 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04