Custom Sports Figurine - Female Basketball Player Montana College

in #hobby6 years ago (edited)

It must seem like I do a lot of female basketball players with my hobby since this will be the 4th I have posted in the past three months but actually they are pretty rare for me to do, I just had a pretty good run on them over the past few months. I try to high light different aspects of my work each post but at some point it becomes hard to show new things. But with most projects I have anymore I have to do some kind of modifications. This one was mainly a complete head replacement with addition of a pony tail. But lets get to this one. Here is a finished picture so this will show on the feed.

018.JPG

As always, I present the customer with a number of poses and allow them to select the one they like best. I figure it is good to bring the customer into the process by allowing them to have a part in selection of the pose. Sometimes I have over ridden their choice for a number of reasons but usually I go with what they want. The customer liked a figure of Ben Gorden of the Chicago Bulls getting ready to shot a free throw.

29196971_10156309419774444_3251168515108896768_n.jpg

Obviously, the head would need to be replaced. The subject is a female player for the Carroll College Saints in Helena, Montana. While she is a bigger girl, I still would need to do a lot of body modifications to change from a well muscled man to a woman. Here is a shot of her in action.

15970733_1353444441395421_2021277389_n.jpg

This is for a graduation gift, which hasn't occurred yet, so even though this is likely a remote possibility, if you know the person, please do not share this with them. So what needed to be modified? Well, obviously I would need a female head, and luckily, this pose is actually smaller than most NBA figures in size so I was able to use a female WWE figure's head.

IMG-3961.JPG

As with all the female figures, I had to do a lot of sanding/dremeling to remove musculature of the base figure. However, I also decided that since she was on the tall side, I would actually need to add length to her legs where they connected to the shorts and make them a bit thicker. But first I did the removal, which included sanding down the ankle area to add ankle braces.

IMG-3962.JPG
IMG-3963.JPG

Then adding apoxie sculpt putty to the legs. The two balls in the pictures below are the putty which is a two part putty that has to be mixed before use.

IMG-3981.JPG
IMG-3982.JPG

I affixed the new head to the neck by using a metal rod and putty. It worked out that a full head replacement would be best. I also added to her chest and expanded the shorts over the thicker legs. And using a couple of pieces of wire, added a pony tail. Below are a few pictures of the final piece with all additions before priming and painting and decaling.

IMG-3983.JPG
IMG-3992.JPG
IMG-3993.JPG

And now the final pictures of the piece.

001.JPG
003.JPG
005.JPG
007.JPG
009.JPG
An interesting back story on this particular piece, while it was her boyfriend who ordered this piece, I knew her father in high school, we played against each other in several sports back in the day, Northern Class B in Montana. That is me with the glasses playing for the Chester Coyotes.
bb vs Hashely.jpg
Another completed project and happy customer. Thanks for looking.
@bigskycustoms

Sort:  

This piece turned out really nice! You do the resculpts so well!

she'll definitely love the gift... great job and glad to nominate this for ocd-resteem :)

Thanks for the k Nd words and the heads up on the correct tag and subsequent nomination!

That is awesome man. It turned out really great. I am actually from Helena. Currently live in Missoula though.

Cool, seems most Montana people I have found so far are from Missoula area with one exception. My son lives there @jakeybrown, this couple live in Lolo: @lordvdr and @jametheil and then @pretty.dorky if from Bozeman. I started following you so, thanks for doing same for me.

Glad to see another Montana person show up!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-08T12:29:18
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 239.75/200.00
Total Photos: 40
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.13 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

OCD strikes again!

for sure, an awesome group!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85