Nerdy Endavours: Creating a Proper Shadowrun Dice Tin

in #hobby5 years ago (edited)
As a seasoned pen-and-paper role player, I have together with my friends and compatriots from my role playing group explored many fantasy universes and role playing systems, but none have worked as well for us as the third edition of the cyberpunk role playing system known as Shadowrun. While the system has a pretty steep learning curve, it scales really well compared to Dungeons & Dragons/Pathfinder, that is lethal on lower levels and boring on higher levels and it can relatively easily be adapted to work with a fantasy campaign as well, which was exactly what our group did for our most successful fantasy campaign that ran for 1½ years.

After its conclusion, we decided for our next campaign to return to Shadowrun's cyberpunk roots: The rain-soaked, neon-lit streets of New Seattle, where the global megacorporations run the world and are out to get you, if not the troll bike gangs get you first. However, very much like any shadowrunner worth his salt needs the right equipment in the form of guns, vehicles and cyberwear, a seasoned role player needs to put his gear in order as well. Shadowrun is a D6-system, so no fancy polyhedron dice needed here. For our fantasy campaign, I had used some very fantasy-looking 12 mm dice, but somehow it did not feel right for this campaign. Also, I got from another role player, that due to their small mass, 12 mm dice were actually more likely to roll ones, so I decided they had to go:


20190312_205023.jpg
Tiny dice begone!

Thus began the hunt for some proper Shadowrun dice. While Qworkshop makes some very decent-looking 16 mm Shadowrun-themed dice for sale, it was not exactly the aesthetic I was looking for, but luckily on Amazon I found just the thing I was looking for: D6 dice with some very 80's-looking digital digits on them. A couple of clicks and a week or so later, my dice arrived:


20190302_112436.jpg
If they played yatsy at the Tyrell Corporation, they would have used dice like these

I liked the sleek and dark design of the dice with its cold, white digital digits as contrast. The paint job was not perfect, however, and the digits of some of the dice needed touching up - good thing I have my acrylic paints and a steady hand:


20190312_200645.jpg
Original to the left. Much better! (Japanese newspaper added for additional cyberpunk feel)

Now came the matter of the container. Most dice containers these days are medieval wallet-looking dice pouches with dragons and such on them, which are all well and good for fantasy dice, but would not match the feel of my digital dice. So off I was to the drawing board to design a container worthy of my new dice. First decision was to eschew the pouch aesthetic entirely for a container of cold, hard metal. I found a USB case I had lying around and used that for a few sessions, and while its dimensions were perfect, the plastic window on its front did not feel right:


20190302_112342.jpg
Using a USB case as dice tin

So back on the interwebs again in search for a proper dice tin as well as some proper cyberpunk decoration. Most pages like Amazon and Etsy only offered relatively pricey tins with designs already printed on the lid, but luckily I was able to locate a British tin wholesaler called Tinware Direct that would ship worldwide and sell samples of their tins at a very favourable price. I found a tin with a solid hinged lid with the exact same dimensions as my USB case for less than £1 and very reasonable shipping as well:


20190302_112557.jpg
Perfect!

Now came for the decoration. My first thought was to jump to the Tactical Neural Implant tumblr, print out some suitable imagery and stick it on the lid somehow. This would be troublesome, however, since I did not own a colour printer and a print on normal paper glued to the lid using normal means would quickly degrade due to wear and tear. I needed something more durable, more professional.

Back I went to the internet to search for some cool cyberpunk stickers, and my wish was granted in full on Redbubble, a web shop for products produced by independent artists, that ships worldwide and has an absolutely awesome collection of Cyberpunk-themed vinyl stickers in just the right dimensions for my small tin. After some browsing, I decided - being me - on two decidedly Japano-cyberpunk stickers: A design called Neon-Tokyo for the front of the lid and a raw, Ghost in the Shell-type design called CINAPS for the inside of the lid. One short week later, and the stickers arrived in my mail:


20190312_201217.jpg
gorgeous designs and great quality stickers!

A few short moments later and my new dice tin was assembled. To prevent the dice from rattling around too much in the tin, I took out the foam bottom from the USB case and because the two tins had nearly identical dimensions, it only needed minimal trimming to fit in the new tin. This was the result:


20190302_122302.jpg


20190302_122438.jpg

I am very pleased with the result. I thought about adding some katakana or model train graffiti decals to the side of the tin to accentuate the cyberpunk feel, but such stickers that can be purchased in basically any 100 yen store in Japan are impossible to find here in Europe and in the end, I also ended up concluding that overdoing decorations could ruin the feel - sometimes less is more.

Is this the end? Probably not, I am already contemplating purchasing a larger tin with a larger surface area that can also double as a rolling surface for the dice and that can hold cool cyberpunk stickers with an even higher resolution, but that is a project for another day.




Thank you for reading! If you are contemplating embarking on a similar project yourself, make sure to check out both Tinware Direct and Redbubble and in particular the designers WolfeCreative and HimanshiShah. They both do amazing work!

Sort:  

I must admit the tin looks way better compared to the plastic container. I have never played this game before and didn't know you had so many dice. The time and effort spent on the tin is worthwhile as it kind of sets the mood for gaming.

Thank you, @cryptoandcoffee - that's what I thought as well :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

What a great idea - and great result! I'm not a fan of SR and haven't played it for years but the dice are perfect. And the picture on top even has a bit of a "Bladerunner"-feeling though I remember there being more Atari-Signs and less bicycles ;)

Thanks a lot, @muscara! I'll admit the front design could have been more Blade Runner-esque, but I love Tokyo so it was a natural choice for me :)

Hi cogitecture,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I really like how dedicated you are to give yourself and the other role players more immersion into the game, all the works that you put into the dice and its tin box are really touching. I am sure your friends will appreciate the new dice and hopefully enjoy themselves more as well :D.
                         
Congrats for the curie vote, really lovely post, cogi ^_^.

Thanks so much, @scrawly! I like small hobby projects like these that gives you the opportunity to create something unique to show off to your friends during a game session. I am overwhelmed and happy that Steem seem to feel the same way ^_^

Congratulations @cogitecture! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

That's a really cool tin for really cool dice for your futuristically themed board game sessions ! I LOVE IT~ VERY cyberpunk themed <3 The steel looking tin with those stickers are absolutely giving the right vibes for you and your friends to get into the moods for your board games for sure <3 <3 <3

Love this post, Cogi <3 !!!

Thanks a lot, @veryspider! Your praise really brings out the hobbyist in me! :D

I admire your patience and determination. I think not many people would have bothered to do what you did with your dice and case. You did a great job, your dice tin is unique and looks great. Keep being awesome and congratulations for the great job and for the curie of course, that's an honor!

Thank you for your comment, @erikah! I am super happy that my little pet project is reaping such praise from you guys! :)

HI @cogitecture, thank you for that great post. I am overwhelmed of the effort you put into the details for playing a pen - and paper role game. The amount of time you put into the creation of a peferect gaming experience is inspiring.

I never played games with the same passion you put into it, but by reading your post it makes me feel like you and your friends are the right persons to have a fantastic gaming experience with.

Keep up the good work :)
Cheers,
M

Thank you for your comment, @mcnestler! Like some people connect with their oldest friends around sports or online games, I meet with with a group of my oldest friends a couple of times a month for pen and paper role playing and has done so for nearly 15 years, so it is a very important part of my life :) I am overwhelmed and motivated by your praise of my little project!

Woah some really nice dice decorations and the futuristic theme comes out, hope to play the shadowrun game in the future for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your comment, @shaheerbari! If you want to get into Shadowrun, you should check out fifth edition as it is a bit easier to learn and the books are easier to come by, or check out the coming role-playing game Cyberpunk 2077 - it looks very promising!

Thanks I'll certainly learn about it and play.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95