FINALLY - MY FIRST POST: My Journey in Crypto...

in #hodl6 years ago

It all starts in end of 2013.
Coming back home after a relocation job, being 2 year abroad, and working for one of the most successful companies in the world, I decided it's time to spread my wings and embrace entrepreneurship as a way of life.

If you think that being an entrepreneur or an investor is easy... wait till you here this one.

Had about 20K Euro in my bank account and in a very good stock, an apartment thats being rented, providing me with about 729$ monthly (after paying mortgage).

I founded a company, with a vision to develop the very best Sound for Film software in the world, and I decided that the touchscreen computer (or tablets) would be ideal for all kind of creative tasks in the coming years, things like graphic design, DJing, music production, film editing, etc..

I have strong background in sound and video productions, and so I thought I had what it takes to design the entire product from scratch.

Poured the majority of my time and money to write a patent, register a company, hire and work with graphic designers, and spent many days and nights coming up with mock ups and ideas for my dream software (PS - I do not code at all).

Just before I applied for a government grant for funding (which I eventually received) - I took a small risk on Crypto.
Early 2014 I was into Litecoin, and I decided that I'm going to mine litecoins.

On both projects described above - I went with my heart, and I had the right timing and know-how.
On BOTH project I failed miserably.

The app was eventually produced, and although my partner on this venture, who was suppose to be the CTO had other things to do instead of his job, the Patent was applied and it is now fully registered, and I am indeed very proud of every little feature within it, and it is full of good, good features, I'd say that my own heart and soul, and the engineers that worked with me as well are in this piece of software..
Yet it is not monetizing at all :(

What about the Litecoins you must ask..

My (Idiot) partner decided it would be smart to:

  1. Build the PC NOT as instructed, and within a standard (big) PC case (constant overheating cards).
  2. Place the hardware completely out of reach, hidden within an air conditioned server room, of one of his clients (to save electricity)
  3. He just never got back to me when I asked him to bring the machine or do a hard reset by himself, so I could connect remotely and check it.

The sad thing really is that all of my Litecoins were in a pool which was robbed a month before I checked it (this year).
Somewhere along the in 2016 I lost 100% of my stocks for having the weakest hands possible, with the worst painful ending with (Fucking) Dryships stock...

The funny thing is - that somewhere along the way - 14 Litecoins which I did have from mining in July this year, went to short term plays instead of smart investments... so I wold about 5900 Iotas for 900$... and I though I was smart...

NOW I see the light.
The word is HODL ladies and gentleman, simple as that.

And you gotta look forward - to the future, do not be afraid of whats gonna happen if you step out of your tiny little comfort zone.

It's not about speculative investments, or about making a quick buck.
It's about real people, doing real work, appreciating other people's real work... all happening with Zero interruption globally.

We are now witnessing the true power of the internetIt all starts in end of 2013.
Coming back home after a relocation job, being 2 year abroad, and working for one of the most successful companies in the world, I decided it's time to spread my wings and embrace entrepreneurship as a way of life.

If you think that being an entrepreneur or an investor is easy... wait till you here this one.

Had about 20K Euro in my bank account and in a very good stock, an apartment thats being rented, providing me with about 729$ monthly (after paying mortgage).

I founded a company, with a vision to develop the very best Sound for Film software in the world, and I decided that the touchscreen computer (or tablets) would be ideal for all kind of creative tasks in the coming years, things like graphic design, DJing, music production, film editing, etc..

I have strong background in sound and video productions, and so I thought I had what it takes to design the entire product from scratch.

Poured the majority of my time and money to write a patent, register a company, hire and work with graphic designers, and spent many days and nights coming up with mock ups and ideas for my dream software (PS - I do not code at all).

Just before I applied for a government grant for funding (which I eventually received) - I took a small risk on Crypto.
Early 2014 I was into Litecoin, and I decided that I'm going to mine litecoins.

On both projects described above - I went with my heart, and I had the right timing and know-how.
On BOTH project I failed miserably.

The app was eventually produced, and although my partner on this venture, who was suppose to be the CTO had other things to do instead of his job, the Patent was applied and it is now fully registered, and I am indeed very proud of every little feature within it, and it is full of good, good features, I'd say that my own heart and soul, and the engineers that worked with me as well are in this piece of software..
Yet it is not monetizing at all :(

What about the Litecoins you must ask..

My (Idiot) partner decided it would be smart to:

  1. Build the PC NOT as instructed, and within a standard (big) PC case (constant overheating cards).
  2. Place the hardware completely out of reach, hidden within an air conditioned server room, of one of his clients (to save electricity)
  3. He just never got back to me when I asked him to bring the machine or do a hard reset by himself, so I could connect remotely and check it.

The sad thing really is that all of my Litecoins were in a pool which was robbed a month before I checked it (this year).
Somewhere along the in 2016 I lost 100% of my stocks for having the weakest hands possible, with the worst painful ending with (Fucking) Dryships stock...

The funny thing is - that somewhere along the way - 14 Litecoins which I did have from mining in July this year, went to short term plays instead of smart investments... so I wold about 5900 Iotas for 900$... and I though I was smart...

NOW I see the light.
The word is HODL ladies and gentleman, simple as that.

And you gotta look forward - to the future, do not be afraid of whats gonna happen if you step out of your tiny little comfort zone.

It's not about speculative investments, or about making a quick buck.
It's about real people, doing real work, appreciating other people's real work... all happening with Zero interruption globally.

We are now witnessing the true power of the internet.
When I hired engineers in Ukraine, and paid in Fiat, I thought I was being smart and productive (as entire SW dev workflow was essentially decentralized).

I recall hearing the mantra "Blockchain can revolutionize anything"... and when you look to the future, and count the good things that you do have, and take the lessons of the past along with you on a new journey.. you'd find that the world is now open for business, whether it's medicine, social media, film production, music, making satellites emit Wifi from Space, or letting electricity to your neighbors directly.

Do you remember that in 2008 there's was that catch phrase "There's an App for that".. ?
Well - I know a thing or two about those apps.
They are centralized, they don't work, they are out of fashion and they aren't worth the effort in the current given model.
I'd like us all to adopt the new phrase "There's a blockchain for that!"

Today I am well invested in Crypto, after making some very bad choices IN crypto at the begging, I am now very optimistic and very happy to continue my journey in this space as I grow my carrier, wherever it may take me..

I hope you all make the right choices, go with your heart, and be smart.
Always do your own due diligence in life, especially when choosing a business partner (and always have a reverse vesting contract, so everyone keeps their word).

I wish you all best of luck, and just remember - HODL!

Sort:  

Congratulations @cryptoamir! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67058.56
ETH 3094.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64