My Final Round Entry for Laura Lemons Art Contest - #Surrender.

in #holoz0rlltaa16 years ago

I've had some really top notch competition in this, and I'm amazed that I made it through to the final round.

alsogood.PNG

I'm extra fond of my 360/VR camera. My mate @exploreadelaide is a magician with his, and I'm hoping to recruit the instagrammer who got us onto this particular camera.
We're tagging this type of shot as #tinyplanet.

I want to take this opportunity to talk about Laura Lemons a little

For those unaware, she was an enthusiastic, talented participant in our little community until a few months ago; when loneliness, isolation, and a chronic, debilitating medical condition took her from us.
She was a great artist. Wracked with insecurities, as many artists are; but great nevertheless, and a very generous person.

I particularly like the profile picture she drew for me.

She was quite taken with her VR goggles, which prompted me to investigate shooting things like the Adelaide meetup with a VR camera, and lead to this entry.

I wish she'd have been able to join us virtually as I originally envisaged, snatching her out of that damn room for half an hour, and zapping her over to Australia for a bbq with her friends.

This place has the potential to do wonders for isolated, lonely people like Laura.
Trolls are virtually non-existent, and tipping a stranger a few cents, or eventually a few dollars is a great way to improve one's mood

You don't know what issues or trials others are enduring, so it's important to always be kind.
I recently rediscovered the last conversation Laura and I had, and although I had no idea it was the last time we'd speak; I'm really glad I chose the words I did.
After careful consideration, I've decided to share it here.

Capture1.PNG

Capture2.PNG

Capture3.PNG

She had a fantastic sense of humour, and I'm sure she'd be cool that I've shared this with the rest of her friends in the community; particularly as a reminder to always be kind.

Thanks, Holoz0r for a great competition.
May the best entrant win :)

%40mattclarke footer 20.11.17 (1).png

Sort:  

Thank you for making me think about Laura tonight. She was incredibly talented. It is beautiful that you kept your last conversation with her. "Keep bringing the color...and be proud of yourself for it." What a beautiful sentiment.

always be kind.

A simple yet very noble request. I will do my best to try.

Really brings home that personal responsibility.
We have so much more power than we realise.

its un relevant but wana ask is there any other contest to participate in it um not from that part of the world :)
sorry if this is a wrong place to ans
you ans wll be appreciate
@mattclarke

I believe @holoz0r is planning to run this again soon, and entries will likely be open to any steemian.

thsnkyou so much for your reply :)
sty blessed @mattclarke

Hi MC! Just wanted to come by and say thank you from ssg!

Cheers mate!

I understand you've been pretty instrumental in building the stacking community on here.
Top effort. Great guys, supportive group. No bastards.
I think we're going to have a great time of it here :)

Sofa king far, sofa king good!
👊😎

Matt, this is an amazing post... the photo absolutely drew me in, the story of Laura made me feel all the feels, and then the hope that a platform like Steem might actually reduce the danger people face in their lives is extremely exciting. Studies have shown that people in isolation feel like they're a part of society when just sharing things on social media (even when they don't get any reactions) but something like Steem where potentially the whole world can find you really must be exciting and uplifting. Steemit equals the end of loneliness!

Wait until you can show some support by dropping a dollar on someone who's put the effort in.
Facebook feels like playing poker for matchsticks now.
"Likes" don't actually help the person. Feels really childish in comparison.

I honestly can't wait...
To be able to really make a difference is super super incentivizing to me to keep going with this Steem gambit.

Hahahah, "Likes" provide that little hit of addictive dopamine but wait until they get a load of actually increasing their opportunities on Steemit!

@mattclarke - I didn't realize that your creative side was as active as your serious side :) Even your serious side has a creative side to it (and vice versa).

I'm actually just coasting by on my rugged good looks; but thank you, Plush :)

You mean we don't actually have to put any effort into what we post as long as we have a good profile picture? How come nobody told me that! All those hours spent writing things when I can just work on how to take a good selfie instead :(

Awww :( That cactus sticker that she always used :(
I Love your entry! You weren't kidding when you said you had an awesome one!

Get a wriggle on; only two weeks left to get your entry in ;)

Congratulations @mattclarke! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello! I finally found you that link you sent didn’t connect me here, but nonetheless here I am. You weren’t kidding that’s an amazing entry, good luck on the contest!

Thanks :)
Yes it seemed like poor form to spruik my entry on my opponent's facebonk page, so I just sent the image link.
Also my password, obviously :)

That was soo funny. I still cannot believe you want @kaylinart and I to take over your account. Our secret for sure ;)

That's a cool photo Matt. Is that Elsa in the back?

Also, I found you another mallsballer @lordnigel. He'll be in the next TA update.

that's me :). Nice post/picture...sorry to hear about your friend.

Welcome aboard, mate :)
Following you.

You're a delight as always.
Thank you kindly :)
Edit: Yes it's Elsa. I was glad of the long dress because her feet are shaped for heels, which are long gone; so I had to stab her into the ground to make her stand upright.

So sad to hear you all lost a great friend, she had such an impact on this community, I am disappointed I did not get to know her.

This story is so sad, but a great reminder that what we say and our actions towards people really do matter. Always be kind seems like such a simple phrase, but its pinpointing a key aspect of the golden rule, we always want to be treated with kindness, and we need to treat others the same way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62258.08
ETH 3157.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78