All Natural Air Freshener

in #home5 years ago

Essential Oils, Alternative, Aroma, Aromatic, Body

So with three dogs and a little boy, it doesn't matter how well we clean, sometimes the air in the room can smell not so pleasant. We are both really sensitive to synthetic smells, so typical air fresheners and scented candles are out of the question.

A few winters ago, when my humidifier broke and I found myself coming down with a little bit of a cold, I made an impromptu substitution by putting a pot of water on the stove and allowed it to simmer. I also added some essential oils to the water and to my surprise, the yummy scent lingered in the air long after I turned the water off. For days, the air was fresh and sweet.

So over the years, I have expounded on my original air freshening (and humidifying) concoction. The recipe is always changing depending on what essential oils and citrus fruits I have on hand, but I've never been disappointed with the smell. Here's my favorite recipe :

Ingredients:

  • 1 pot filled with water, typically I use a
  • 5 drops rosemary essential oil
  • 5 drops juniper essential oil
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground clove
  • juice of 1/2 lemon, reserve the rind to add to the air freshener too.

Bring the water to a boil, turn to medium low, allowing it to simmer. Add essential oils, spices, lemon juice and lemon rind. Allow to simmer for however long you wish, but be sure to check the liquid level occasionally and add more water as needed.

Take a deep breath and enjoy :)

Alternative add-ins include fresh or dried herbs (like lavender, thyme, oregano, or basil), flower petals (specifically roses for their strong scent), and if you have a sinus infection or congestion, be sure to add healing essential oils like peppermint and eucalyptus.

Sort:  

@pinkspectre You have received a 100% upvote from @steemconductor because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99