Installing Wood Laminate Flooring and Finishing Touches to a New Dog House [home] [lifestyle]

in #home5 years ago

woodlaminate.jpg

Home Improvements


Hope everyone had a great weekend. I spent my weekend working on much needed items for the home. One was installing a new floor in my daughter's room, while also working on finishing touches for a dog house I built.

A few weeks ago I decided that with the end of summer fast approaching and the fall season quickly coming in, the newest family pet, Copper the Boxer dog, had outgrown sharing a dog house due to his size and now needed his own dog house. Luckily I had all of the wood material needed at home from other project leftovers to get the main portion of the doggie house built. I did have to order two inch caster wheels and 3/8 inch Furniture legs. The wheels and legs will help keep the house up off the water when it rains, while the wheels, placed in the back, will help with moving the Dog house when necessary.

doghouse2.jpg
This little one is thinking of moving in but not so fast!

I also bought a set of heavy duty tee hinges to support the swinging door. I made this door quite large so that the dog house could be easily cleaned. I also created a cutout in on the end of this door so that when closed, it left an opening so that Copper the Boxer could enter his new dog house. I left the cut out on the end of the door in order to give Copper a protected corner away from direct wind coming in from the doggie door.

I also ordered a water sealant to use on both the roof and the bottom of the doggie house. After doing some research, I settled on Liquid Rubber Waterproof Sealant by Liquid Rubber USA. I figured if people use it to keep water in their ponds, then this would work perfectly to keep water out of the roof and should there be some serious rainfall, protect the wood on the bottom of the doggie house from getting wet and eventually ruining the wood.

I had built the doggie house two weekends ago, and actually had a small thundershower already. With that warning I knew that I had to put the sealant on this weekend, in between installing the wood laminate flooring in my daughter's bedroom. Since the water sealant takes about 12 hours minimum of drying time between coats, the first thing I did was lay down a coat on the roof, then proceeded to do the wood flooring for the rest of the day.

doghouse.jpg
Two Doors in One

At the end of the day, with the wood flooring half done, I added the second coat to the roof. On Sunday, I sealed the whole bottom of the doggies house along with a 2 or 3 inch covering of sealant on the bottom sides of the house, which is that black stripe you see on the bottom. Also if you look close enough you can see the furniture legs. I then proceeded to finish the flooring in my daughters room and now just need the base board, which I will do this coming weekend. I will also give the bottom of the doggie house another coat to the bottom, since I was too tired to do it on Sunday.

Have a great Week Everyone!

+++ @streetstyle

Sort:  

Buenos días amigo @streetstyle deseo que se encuentre bien al igual que su familia amigo. Lindo piso de madera y linda casa del perro , usted a hecho un exelente trabajo . Feliz día amigo

The dual door is brilliant

Thanks @davedickeyyall I figured if I ever get thrown out to the dog house I won't have a hard time getting in with that bigger door and plenty of room for me and the boxer.....(and I claimed it was easier access to clean inside...lol).

Better make room for a mini fridge too..

What a beautiful room that of your daughters, and the dog's house is cool. I imagine the dog is happy with his new house.

Hermosa mascota un perro es un buen amigo. Me gusta su refugio. Saludos

Posted using Partiko Android

Saludos @streestyle que hermosa la nueva casa de su perro y la instalacion de ese piso nuevo de madera

Muy buen trabajo de carpintería mi pana, me preguntaba si para este mes de Octubre se activa el #SPUD6?

Que lindo perrito,se ve que es pequeño,que curioso se ve!,y usted se desenvuelve en todo,hasta constructor decasa,le quedo muy linda muy bueno su trabajo,pero mas adelante sera mas grande para poder colocar agua y comida y pensando que crecera el perrito o a menos que se a de raza chiquita,que buen trabajo amigo,saludos y gracias de corazon

Apparently your pet liked his new house.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

The little dog will be happy that you can provide him this beautiful house

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86