You Are SOOOO Lucky to Work From Home....and Other Myths...

in #homebusiness6 years ago

steem_logo - Topic Box.png

(note to plagiarism bots: this was originally on my blog, but updated for here - but this MY original post!!)

Reminiscing on 20 years of working from home...

I’ve been working at home now since 1996. I started working ‘remotely’ in about 1992, but by ’96, I was really done with the corporate world.

At the time I was living in the heart of Silicon Valley, literally minutes from eBay, PayPal, Google, and names that are long gone: Excite, AltaVista and Netscape.

Very few people were working remotely then, and it was something of a ‘stigma’ to have a home office as your ONLY office. After all - no one could possibly take you seriously if you actually answered your own phone, right? You would not believe the charades that we went through back then to keep up the appearances: executive suite services to answer our phones, and give us a ‘real’ mailing address, always visiting the client in their office - never ‘my’ office.

The internet was still in it’s infancy from a ‘small business’ standpoint, and while everyone was using email and surfing the web, the concept of actually running a successful web-based business from your spare bedroom was still rather unique.

Workathome.png

Fast forward a couple of decades and my, my how things have changed! I moved from San Jose to Cincinnati (long story - another post!), and proudly call a log home on 5 acres both home and work. My commute is down the stairs to the coffeepot, and every morning I watch the sun rise over my pond.

Working from home is a ‘badge of honor’ today and I proudly share with clients the fact that I am watching a herd of deer parade by my back deck while we chat on Skype.

When a client moans about the morning commute in an early am call, I commiserate by sharing the fact that I tripped over one of the cats on the way to the coffeepot…ok, so maybe I am not so good at commiserating, LOL, but I DO remember the 2 hour commutes in the Bay Area traffic and totally appreciate where I am today.

Today being able to work from home is a sign of success, both monetarily and personally. It was a lifestyle choice I made a long time ago and I stayed the course, come hell or high water!

It has not been easy, by any means. There is no safety net - I am on my own here, folks, no sick leave, no paid vacations, no one else to handle the grunt work. But it’s ok. I can deal with that - it is my choice. And that is the key phrase right there: IT IS MY CHOICE!!

But it’s not one that friends, family and general acquaintances necessarily understand or embrace. In fact, some of the comments that I get are pretty funny…well, actually, they are also sometimes downright rude… but I choose to view them as humorous as that tends to drive the person making the snarky comments a little bat-shit ;-)

So…looking back over the last couple of decades, I thought it would be fun to share some of the most common comments I have heard over the years from acquaintances, friends and family…and sometimes…total strangers...

divider.png

1) You are SO lucky to work from home!
Seriously?? Ain’t no luck involved, baby cakes. Luck had nothing to do with it - I set a goal, made a decision and worked my tail off to get here. And yes, you could probably do this, too, it just means taking a leap of faith in yourself, working night and day whenever needed, making all kinds of sacrifices, and most of all - DOING it!!
divider.png

2) Wow - must be so neat to just do what you want all day!
What I WANT to do is lay on the beach and read steamy novels while sipping brightly colored drinks with umbrellas in them. What I DO is crawl out of bed at 6am to have calls with my clients on the other side of the world, so I can start working with my North American clients when they start their day - and I am in the Eastern Time Zone - which means I often get calls at 9pm my time….. because the sun has not yet set in California…..
divider.png

3) I would be lonely - I need to have other people to talk to all all day. I would miss all my friends and the social activities at work!
Your boss must love you, you little social bunny, you! Yikes, seriously, someone is PAYING you for social activities at the office? Do you actually do some work occasionally, too, or is showing up enough for you? And yes, for those asking - this is almost verbatim from numerous people! Scary to think you might be paying them....
divider.png

4) I would never be able to stay motivated and focused enough to work on my own…
WOW? I know we are all different but I have always found that keeping a roof over my head and food in the cats’ dishes was enough motivation for me. Well, that and an occasional pair of Manolos…
divider.png
And last but not least - one of my all-time favorites:
5) Wow! Must totally rock to not have some jerk of a boss telling you what to do all of the time!
News Flash, grasshopper! I work for the bitchiest, toughest most demanding boss EVER - ME!! I expect the best from myself, and then push for 25% more. I am relentless. I never settle for yesterday’s best because I know that I can do better tomorrow.

The bottom line is that I love what I do.

I keep the hours that I want, and choose my clients and business opportunities, not the other way around. I live what I call a fully ‘integrated’ lifestyle, meaning that I don’t have clearly defined life versus work hours. Each melds seamlessly into the other.

Yes, I know that doesn't work for everyone. Some folks need to step away completely and know that the work day ends at 5pm, but I learned a long time ago that this simply works better for me.

I’ve closed 6 figure deals while floating in the pool, and lead international conference calls while in pajamas and bunny slippers (if video conferencing ever becomes widespread in my industry, I am retiring).

I am the only grandma that never misses a football game - al the while pecking away on my Skype or email. That 30 seconds spent answering the email is minimal compared to the 4 hours with the grandsons. When my father suffered a stroke, I flew from Ohio to Nevada every month for a week to visit, and still maintained my business. When Mom broke her ankle, I lived with her for 3 months until she was able to walk unaided again - and still kept the business and income alive.

Is it challenging? Yes, every day. Is it worth the effort? Yes, every day!

venture55_steem_logo.png

You can connect with Melody at Venture55.com, her new community for entrepreneurs, with a focus on the 55 and over crowd, looking to start a second career or plump up their retirement fund after years of seeing it decline. Melody is a lifelong entrepreneur, and works from her log home on 5 acres in Cincinnati. She shares the home and life with her hubby, and 3 rescue kitties. She's spent 20 years as an international payments consultant, and runs several online enterprises.

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

WOW!! Thank you!! I am truly thrilled at this!!

Wow - you put so many of my thoughts and feelings into a great post. Doesn't it make your blood boil when people say you've been so lucky - as if you just fell into the situation that you worked so hard to make happen. And now amount of explaining really gets the other person to understand, so now instead of trying to explain how luck had nothing to do with it, I just say something like 'Yeah, I was lucky that I listened to my own heart and made the sometimes risky choices that I made.' I've actually got a post in process about luck vs risk. Thanks for your insightful post.

Ok - I got a cheetah vote - this is my own original post from, pulled in from my Linkedin blog but heavily re-written. C'mon!!

Hey Melody, I got “cheetahed” too on one of my post. Don’t worry about it. I’ll give you an upvote to make you feel better!

I just read it and you are a very good writer! I look forward to reading more of your work!

Hey Todd!! Thank you! I love to write - it's my 'creative outlet' since my main revenue producing activities are not at all creative - just tons of paperwork even though it's all online businesses. More coming tomorrow!

I will keep an eye out for them, looking forward to it.

Great post... working from home is definitely not as easy as some may think but 1000x better than a j o b. (yuck). I personally love it!

The Cheeta bot upvoted you and was nice enough to provide a link back to your original article..(woohoo more followers on linkedin!) . I think that's a double win ;-)

YES!! I am totally nodding my head to every item on this list! I've been working at home since 2007, and I have heard them all....as well as "Oh, you're at home all day, can you do XYZ for me while I'm at work?" No thanks, I work too!!

LOL - oh yes! When I lived in a conventional suburb of San Jose Calif - everyone thought my house was the delivery point for UPS etc. Now I live on 5 acres outside of Cincinnati, so at least that has stopped. But most people still seem to think I spend my days watching soaps and eating bonbons....LOL.....instead of working 9 to 5, it's more like 5am to 9pm most days.....

Haha, I can relate! Most of my family and friends get it now, but it took years to make them realize I do have to work and can't run their errands, babysit their kids (my 4 year old at home is more than enough!), or whatever else they are too busy to do.

Just a thought.

When they say how lucky you are to work at home, WE know it's not luck, but I wonder if what THEY are trying to say is.. "What a blessing it must be to work at home!"

Gary

Well, in my case - I know that a couple of my relatives honestly believe I just 'fell' into this, and have no idea the effort I put into building my business and replacing the income I had in the corporate world. But I also have a feeling that they probably figured I got that corner office in the corporate world by batting my eyelashes at the right person.

Sigh....everyone has a few branches in the family tree that droop pretty low, I am afraid ;-)

That's a clever turn of phrase. "branches in the family tree that droop pretty low."

Love it.

Gary

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66886.68
ETH 3522.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18