The journey begins!! my thoughts on homelessness.

in #homeless6 years ago (edited)

So yesterday I posted about my brother and his being missing, I somehow have lost years along the way, I have not seen any activity for him since 2004 not 2008.

I put a bit of my family's story out here not to get anything from anyone but maybe a bit of advice. I feel so grateful to have entered this community! There are so many self-less human beings on steemit alone, and I would like to say thanks to all who took the time to read our story. Which is just a small glimpse. I opened this account to raise awareness and money to help with what I can.

When first creating the #stophomelessness account my main goal was to raise enough money to make up some backpacks and hygiene kits for the men's shelter in my town. I know that one of the missions here has a great program for men who want to change their living status.

Although, the women's program here for that specific nonprofit, among many others across the US will not allow a woman to bring her children, if they are boys over the age of 11. To me that is where part of the problem lies, it is tough enough on these women who are looking for a safe-haven to find shelter, but if they are like me, and have young impressionable men, they will be turned away. It's sad that these young boys are demonized for having a penis. So not only will they be turned away they will be homeless, houseless, now hopeless! It isn't fair. There are many great programs out there for women, but it seems they have to be beaten to a bloody pulp before someone reaches out and helps. IMO

My brother chose to be homeless back before 2001, but as I said in the last post he has been missing since 2004, I worry that he just doesn't want to be found, and that would be fine, if someone were to tell me he just doesn't want to be bothered. I could deal. It's the unknown, the wondering. is he warm? Did someone help feed him? Does he have any friends to talk to? Is he just the guy laying in the streets getting spit on? Do people run from him, thinking they will 'catch it'? These are just a few of my worries! I often hope that he found a wife, and has had children of his own. That he turned his life around and speaks to young men who lost their way. I pray daily that is the answer. I hope every night that where ever he is that he has a blanket and a pillow, things we take for granted...


source:
https://mugshots.com/


This is some of my thoughts on homelessness. As time goes by I would like to get this a bit more organized to help find the missing! If we could just find the story of one homeless person and help them instead of sweeping them further into the gutters, to show them compassion and love, I am not asking you to take them in, if you chose to do that that is amazing in itself! I am just saying if there is one person who reads this blog and sees a homeless person no matter what you think they will do with what you give them, don't worry about that part. Just remember that it could be your brother, or sister, mother or father, grandparent or cousin. It could be you or me. It doesn't take much in this society. I just hope we can all collectively iradicate homelessness. There are abandoned homes all across the world and we have people who live in their cars. There is a problem. How do we fix it?

Much love,
@charisma777
#stophomelessness


Thank you to @ganjafarmer for providing us the link to https://www.givetokens.org/ what an awesome idea! Instead of cash they are tokens you can give the homeless for food shelter and clothing! Amazing!

Sort:  
Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Remind me tomorrow tl tell you about an idea that this post is starting to form. I will have it worked out by then.

i didnt see this until now!

I will message you on discord tomorrow hopefully I am feeling better by then

Thanks but please do not drop links here. I would have checked out your blog without it!! I hope you are well!

Everyone should hit down and out once in a lifetime just to see who in your circle really cares. I'm just now getting starting on my journey back up. I have a long story to tell sometime but not right now. For now I will do best I can and hit those 3 magic buttons
Follow
Resteem
Upvote

The more we share our stories the more we get rid of the issues of the world! I understand getting back up. I seem to have continued to do so for a looong time! I am thankful for your support! Please feel free to keep in touch! And yes when you are down and out you definitely find who your friends are! @tecnosgirl has been there for me many times!~

Congratulations @stophomelessness! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Check your Discord PM's. I've found him. A call has been made. We'll see if he calls me back.

As I said in the Discord PM I appreciate your help so much @finnian! You truly are great at what you do!

Thank you! @tecnosgirl got the same good lead almost at the same time though. :) It was a good and worthy cause regardless, and I'm glad to have helped reconnect you two. Hopefully, he contacts you soon! Please keep us informed.

Congratulations @stophomelessness! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65389.05
ETH 2952.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72