Homemade, non-toxic Sunscreen! (OR diaper ointment!) It's EASY!

in #homemade6 years ago

Okay folks! Summertime is here! Time to break out the sunscreen!

 

Hold up!! Sunscreen from the store is full of toxic chemicals and substances that are actually terrible for you!

 

What to do?! Surely you can't make this magical sunburn-preventing substance at home?!
 

Yes, my Steemit friends, you CAN.


 
This is a container of my homemade sunscreen, which, incidentally, can double as diaper cream, for anyone interested...
DSC05731.jpg

Here's what you need:

  • 2T beeswax
  • 2/3C coconut oil
  • 2T zinc oxide powder
  • essential oils of choice for fragrance
 

Look how creamy!
DSC05732.jpg

Now, a note here about zinc oxide powder:


When shopping for the stuff, you want to look for a non-nano size particle. Some say nano particles being absorbed into your skin is dangerous, some say it's not. To be safe, I look for something like this with larger particles.
 

Making the sunscreen is simple.

  • First you must melt the beeswax. People say to use a double boiler, but I don't have one, so I just use a regular saucepan on low.
  • Next, add in the coconut oil and wait for it to melt, (unless it already is liquid).
  • Then whisk in the zinc oxide powder and any essential oils you wish to use!
  • I like rose geranium oil for insect repellent purposes, and lavender and peppermint are soothing to the skin.  

    It is smooth, soothing, and rubs in pretty well. Yes, you will look a little paler than usual at first, but that's a small price to pay for non-toxic sun-protection, in my opinion.


    Break img2.jpg

    DSC05734.jpg

    DSC05735.jpg

    DSC05736.jpg
     

    I use this ALL THE TIME for myself, my kids, and my husband. A small container like this lasts a surprisingly long time.

     
    The only downsides to this cream are that it's not as easy to apply as, say, the spray on kind from the grocery store. Also, it doesn't last as long as some kinds that supposedly last 'all day'. You'll want to reapply periodically depending on how pale the skin is, and how intense the sun is. I generally do it about every 3-4hrs. Also, don't forget, this makes an excellent diaper rash ointement as well! You may want to make a double batch and put a container on your changing table while you're at it.
     

    I hope you all find this helpful and that some of you try and whip up a batch this summer! Here in south GA we are already experiencing temps in the 90's and the kids are spending lots of time in the pool, which means we are cracking out the sunscreen big time!


    Break img2.jpg

    Have a blessed day, Steemians, and please drop a comment with any questions or thoughts you may have! ♥


     

    DQmbj7aFc4KUTeZutepodkoLfk8RQpX8bmZR1UxNQmeJQ7X_1680x8400.pngDQmWanpr4tr3184ecNVLjHGyoLuS4zVRwgUBUbFzNWfq7Nq.pngDQmXncjfgxpSbXutHSRAPCjVUq7ddoA5SHsLPe7EoNrVfhC.png
    badges courtesy of @daddykirbs


    Logo-Black-Small-Banner.png


    squishysquid_red.png


    All photos are my own work unless otherwise stated.


    Creative Commons License
    This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

    Sort:  

    Oh, I intend to make this ointment and see how it works. It looks beautiful in your picture. Thanks!!

    No prob! Hope it works well for you! Its all we have been using here for years now. :D

    I really like the idea of this, it rubs in really well and protection from the sun is so important. That said living in the UK I can mostly avoid sun cream because we rarely get any - except last weekend we had a 3 day scorcher so I went from Pasty white to lobster in a day.

    c0ff33commentaimage.png
    #thealliance

    Haha I hear ya! I have two colors; pasty white and lobster also! You can imagine how important sunscreen is to me...
    I married a hispanic guy and, thanks to him, our kids have this lovely skin that tans beautifully. They dont know how lucky they are ... 😂

    CONGRATULATIONS!!
    Your post was featured in my Friday DIY Day Curation post!

    How cool, thanks!! 😄

    Great recipe! I'm a big believer in mineral sunscreens. Thanks for sharing.

    This is awesome! We made our own sunscreen when we lived on a boat because we used it all the time. We used shea butter instead of beeswax, though.

    Great post, photos and simple how to!

    Thank you very much!
    Yeah, there are lots of combinations that would work, as long as you are getting coated with the zinc, its all good. :D Im thinking about using lard next time I make a batch. I have discovered that lard-based lotion is WONDERFUL for your skin! I have made with different oils, and the lard lotion is more moisturizing, they say because the fatty acids in the lard are closer to what is naturally produced by our bodies, so your skin can use it more effeciently.

    OMGosh!!! This is perfect! I just need to gt some of the zinc oxide powder.
    This is just great!

    Thanks! Go for it! It is so easy, and SO much better for your skin! ♥

    Thanks for posting a great recipe for sunscreen. We need to use sunscreen all year round in the tropics.

    No problem! I bet you use a lot of sunscreen there!

    Only if we can find something that is pure and not filled with chemicals...

    Now that we’re getting outside every day, I noticed we’re getting some good color on us. Thanks for the recipe! If we make it to the lake much this summer, it will come in handy!

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.30
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.033
    BTC 64386.10
    ETH 3142.17
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 3.98