10 Ideas To Decorate Your Home In Blue And White (On A Small Budget)

in #homemaking6 years ago (edited)

Happy Sunday everyone!

Today, I want to share with you some of my decorating ideas for your home in blue and white scheme. These are the small projects I designed and made for my home. With just a little budget you too can also make your place become a lovely nest full of the things you loved. Fascinated and inspired by the blue and white decorating styles of homes in magazines, I started to collect things that I adore most. Be it curtain, plate, ceramic, quilt, bedcover..... I love them all! If I can´t buy them, I make them. I promise that I´d be making some of those things myself and I did... I really did !!!

Our small house which reminds me of the houses in Holland has around 50 step- stairs distributed to 5 levels similar to maisonette. So if you forgot something from the top floor, you would have to go up and again and get it extra. For practicality I bring along a bag or basket with me to put all things needed for downstairs. Somehow, it is a good exercise if you forget something, but since I have some foot issues the past couple of years, there was no fun anymore climbing up just for the sake of physical fitness! Below are the ideas I used and still use to decorate my place. I save a lot of money because I do the project myself, even now!

10 Ideas to Decorate Your Home With Blue And White Things (On A Small Budget)

IMG_1853.JPG
1. Collect fabric scraps to make sets of pillows like the above, get inspirations from my pinterest site here.

262065_140567189351534_7715507_n.jpg
2. Bed canopy and headboard I designed for the master bedroom including the pillowcases made from canopy inner fabric, I measured the quantity of the fabrics needed beforehand and searched for discounted fabrics.

IMG_0329.JPG

3. Twelve Blocks Sampler Quilt made out of scrap fabrics. If you are interested to see the details of the quilt blocks, you can read and see images on this link.

I know the time invested in doing these projects, but it was worth it, because I enjoyed doing everything during the work in- process. I made the blue and white Sampler Quilt above for my hubby that I gave to him complete with a stitched poem framed for his birthday. And all the quilted pillows shown on the cover photo above evolved from that quilt. I pieced together all the patchwork part by machine and when the batting material was set in place between the quilt top and the back, I hand-quilted the twelve blocks of the Sampler.

20180811_161953.jpg
4. I scoured the flea markets to find lovely decor items to collect, these hand-painted glasses are bohemian in origin which are not really expensive but they look great when grouped together

IMG_7330 a (1) a.jpg
5. Use jugs as vases for your floral arrangements specially with flowers of contrasting colors ... it will turn out good for the eyes of the beholder

cover.jpg
6. Frame arts made by your kids or yourself and spread those arts on your empty wall. Here, I made the first two oil painting some years ago and added some plates to balance the design. Nowadays, the wall plates are displayed not only in the kitchen or dining rooms....so display them in all rooms you like

20180811_150834.jpg

The style that I love most is english and french decorating most especially the country/farmhouse style. I could stay in bookshops freakingly flipping pages about all those projects that I would love to do. You will find my bookshelves full of subjects about arts, photography, decorating, crafting, DIY/carpentry, gardening as well as cooking and baking.

20180811_150950.jpg

I did invest in books because I have always been knowledge-thirsty on how things are done. I think I inherited my dad´s genes because I love carpentry. I made my very first DIY bathtub caddy below and painted it mediterranean blue. It´s been about 15 years ago now and it is still functioning perfectly!

bath tub caddy.jpg

7. Do not be afraid to try small "do it-yourself" projects... small flaws will make you a master, just try it. With the bath tub caddy, I measured the width and length of my bathtub, made a template out of newspaper and bought the materials needed based on the template. You can read more here.

plates.jpg

8. Decorative plates are seen in most of the empty walls of the house. We scour the flea markets on Saturdays and whenever I find blue plates, I haggle until I get the price I wanted. I haggle good that sometimes hubby would turn away if I begin to do business with the dealer. I mostly offer half of the dealer´s price and give 3 different prices in stages until the dealer gives up or I give up and walk away. In most cases, I get the what I want.

20161206_092830.jpg
9. For the curtains, I always prefer the blue and white fabrics because they are so lovely when dressing the window. There are ready made curtain rods that you can buy at reasonable prices. I make the curtains myself because I save lots of money than having it custom made.

20180811_150821.jpg
10. Gather whatever collectible you like for as long as they are in your color. They need not be expensive. You should have fun in finding your collection pieces...afterall, you have a nice story to tell on how you found them.

20180811_152215.jpg
10. Except for the set of plates and ceramic eggs that you see below (gifts from my mom - in law) the Delft blue ceramics were discovered at Vienna´s Saturday Flea market and some were souvenirs from Holland. Look for interesting objects and haggle good.

20180811_151321.jpg

I hope that you like these tips and ideas of decorating in blue and white and that you are inspired to do a bit of decorating your home.

Enjoy your Sunday!

Footer.gif

GIF by @gremayo

Content and Images on this post are original and are properties of the author. If you would like to use any of the photos from this post, please give source credits by linking the URL of this post in your content.

Sort:  

Wow! I love your canopy bed! Murag bed Ng princess! Ahehe...Galing mo talaga Crafter Queen!

Thank you my dear friend! Pinag praktisan ko yung bahay namin.. hehehe

Sobrang Pleasant sa mata... ang ganda po

Thank you dear for the lovely comments and for visiting. Asan na yung potted garden mo? hehehe

You should offer your services and earn for your expertise in decorating... lovely images and the colors are wonderfully good for the eyes.

Thank you. I have been thinking to do that , my problem is time because I stay out of the country during winter time. If I would have stayed in a tropical climate the whole year round , then maybe I would open a shop and offer very low prices to those who wanted my services. For me decorating is just a hobby...

i like that ceramics from Holland and the whole view looks elegantly designed by an expert! to the moon!!! haha...

Thank you @otom... most of them were found in the flea markets in Vienna and me paying them a less than 1 Euro. I am a good haggler, so the dealers always fall as my victims... hahaha

Wow beautiful and unique collection

Agree with you about shopping around for fabric, do it yourself ideas. The delft blue pottery absolutely steals my heart, since very similar in my taste.

Blue always looks crisp and clean, I did my kitchen in the blue and white theme since I married many years ago. Delft blue pottery collected over the years hanging on walls, homely feel and breaks the walls with something different.

Hello @joanstewart .. Oh I can imagine how your kitchen looks like with all those blue and white potteries! We are soul sisters I guess, we have the same taste and that is lovely! I hope to see your kitchen someday and get some ideas from there. Thank you so much, it´s a pleasure to have you here.

You have many more in your collection, that I promise you, the few I have carry lovely memories from family. Perhaps one day I will write about the delft blue.

Simple and best....good and easy way to make a perfect home ...simply outstanding👍

Hello @steemflow, nice to see you here! Thank you for your kind words. For me, I can only call a home perfect when it´s filled with love and the woman´s heart and devotion offered to her family and make that home as much as comfy and homey for them.

Obviously that is the actual meaning....it is not about 4 walls and 1 ceiling home is one where loves lives which actually gets decorated with care, understanding and faith. ......however i really appreciate the way you have made the concrete walls so beautifully with your choice of ideas.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the post!

Beautiful decoration ,, I like blue color..Thanks a lot for giving idea .

Thank you for coming over and for the kind words. Hope to see hear from you again.

Simple but beautiful. I like antique vases & plates display.

Thank you sis Fhe! Umuwi ka sa Pinas pala kaya ka absent dito.. hehehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71