Solving The Look Of An Empty And Boring Walls With Flea Market Finds

in #homemaking6 years ago (edited)

a.JPG

Hi Everyone!

Today, I am sharing a wall that I decorated with a few plates that were collected all through the years, those I found at the Saturday Flea Market in Vienna. Going to this market is something of an adventure, to go out there with the feeling I might find something that is nice that other people found thought to be not worthy keeping. I am probably the type who does not want to put things to waste. There are professional flea market buyers who scours these markets to find objects for their clients. I have seen how beautiful the antique market in Les Puces de Saint-Ouen. It is so huge that you may need to scour the whole market for a week.

Paris Brocante.JPG
Brocante Saint-Ouen, Paris

If I see one I like at the flea market, I haggle with the price and I think I haggle very good. Hubby is always astonished everytime I ask for the price of the thing. I would give my price suggestion to the dealer half off his price.... hubby would smile and somehow always turned-away his head, maybe because he is ashamed of the price I was giving to the dealer! If the dealer said no dice, I would go away, come back after two steps and tell my last price... if the dealer still says no (!) then I´d go away forever, then of course I always anticipate that he will call me and said his reduced price, but mostly I get to pay my price. In Paris, it´s difficult to haggle, most of the dealers pay their stalls, so they have fixed prices for their goods. It´s sometimes take it or leave it situation.

THE BORING WALL

This wall is located in my kitchen-dining room. The row houses in our area were built with few half floors they call maisonette. Each level has half of the normal floor height and the rooms are small although there are 4 bedrooms, a living room and a kitchen-dining room combined. We have a small garden planted pines as hedge for the privacy. I converted the terrace upstairs as my container garden because there are no slugs that devastate my tomatoes and bell peppers, etc. If you think of the small houses in Holland, our house is similar to those, so you get to have plenty of staircase which is a thing for me. When you forget something from the highest floor which is the 6th level you have to painfully go back up stairs and get what you forgot(!!!), So I always bring with me a basket to put all the things I want to bring downstairs.

w9.JPG

For this wall, I put all together all the plates that has either fruits or flowers as motifs. Some are hand-downs, others were flea market finds. Up in the cupboard are jugs that I also collect, they are wine jugs used in rustic bars to serve wine. It´s typically a german tradition particularly in the province of Hessen, Germany. The jug is kind of a gray light blue ceramic that has cobalt blue design. There are such containers made to store wheat or corn harvest by farmers in the Alps region.

plate1.jpg

w2.jpg

w3.jpg

w5.jpg

w6.jpg

w7.jpg

w1.jpg

Added on the wall are figurines below which are actually made of dough brought from a visit in Cyprus.. It is a popular tourist souvenir that are so sensitive and easily breaks. I have them hand-carried and oh my (!) they were heavy!

w4.jpg

b.JPG

c.JPG

As I am not a minimalist , I admit I have plenty of dustings to do, but all in all, I am satisfied with the result of the display. One motto is do whatever makes you happy.

Have a great week ahead!

Proud Member
STEEMIT POWERUP.PH
Follow @steemitpowerupph

Footer Mers SPP.gif

Content and images on this post are original and are properties of the author. If you would like to use any of the photos from this post, please give source credits by linking the URL of this post in your content.

Footer.gif

Special thanks to @gremayo for the GIF

Sort:  

How great your idea Inday kahanga hanga ng.mga gawa.mo.kahit saang sulok..Well organized inside home and gardening.
How to be you ?and of course the way how you blog..
My inspiration

Thank you so much Deev for the kind words... hahaha, hilig lang yan oi! I just put idea into practice kahit anong maisip kapag walang magawa. I now have the time since retirement, although I feel 24 hours is not enough for a day! Hahaha.

Nice collection sis! You decorated perfectly. How talented and gifted you are. Lahat ng talent nasa iyo n sis. I admire you.

Salamat sis Fhe... hilig lang talaga. hehehe. Thanks for visiting me today.

das ist so toll, du machst es toll zu fast allem, was alle Ladies da draussen haben, wenn es ums Homemaking geht, du bist unglaublich!

Hahaha... Ich muss Dir dankend für alles was ich gelernt von Dir cryptomaßig...denn Du bist derjenige der soviel wichgtige infos gibt an uns in der community. Du hast eigentlich viele junge Leute geholfen. Also Du bist derjenige der unglaublich ist !

Es ist wichtig, Wissen über bestimmte Dinge als Teil des menschlichen Vermächtnisses zu teilen, wenn wir diese Erkenntnisse jedoch ablehnen, bleiben wir in uns und was wir teilten, sind nur Fragmente, also lass uns einfach die guten Dinge weiter geben, die wir im Sinn haben.

Travel to such markets is really a great adventure. I like to visit them sometimes, too. There you can always find something unique and unusual for yourself. I liked Your findings and you have collected from them a very good composition on the wall. Thank you!

great arrangement mam mers, ..nice to see your decor !!!

Wow! What a collection! Homebody gyud ka @mers...idol na idol sa crafting...

Photo Challange Bloms & Blossom of 8th-13th July. Participants’ Between (55)-(70) Reputation 1st Prize 5 SBD

In Spring, New Blooms and Blossoms start to appear

beautiful-black-and-white-bloom-414214.jpg
However, when shot in Black and White, you start to see the textures in the petals and it's this feature what this challenge is all about.

VOTING Counted after 1 Hour Post.
Partipiants Must be Between (55) to (70) Reputations

So, strictly Black and White and get in close to reveal the textural beauty of Spring!

Click Here to Participate

You got a 6.00% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @mers!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59