Why I chose homeschooling for my kids

in #homeschool6 years ago (edited)

Initially, I was not on board with homeschooling. I had all the typical concerns that I think most parents have: socialization, inability to teach properly, depriving my kids of a normal childhood. I also had dreams about being a PTA mom; participating in bake sales and fundraisers, chaperoning field trips, attending school plays and talent shows, collecting arts & craft projects my kids would make. This was good for my social life too! Plus getting a small break from my 4 year son was a perk too! images.jpeg

It was my husband who first brought up the idea of homeschooling. I considered it for about 5 min but wasn't really up for the challenge. Selfish, I know! In my defense, at the time I was pregnant with my 4th child! I had a 3 and 1 year old and a over protective, not house-broken dog at home!! Our home life was pretty hectic!

When it was time for my son to take his kindergarten readiness test, he was met with what I can only describe as annoyance. The woman administering the test felt that my son was "too curious" about the objects in her office that there was no way he could possibly focus to be able to take the test and he would probably be a disciplinary problem. Since the school did not currently have a principal, it was probably in our best interest to wait on enrolling him.

My son had not even attended school and they had already labeled him a problematic child! They spent less than an hour with him and decided his future. My husband instantly knew without any doubts, that our son didn't stand a chance in that type of environment.

After a 1 year trial run at homeschooling, my kids were definitely not missing out. We found an abundance of teaching and learning resources, a local Co-op where my kids had an opportunity to meet other kids, field trips on our schedule, freedom to choose our curriculum and dress code! I could go on and on but you get the idea. There are so many perks to homeschooling. The pros really do out weigh the cons if your willing to put in the work.20-great-reasons-you-homeschool.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this story ♡
Nice to meet more homeschooling parents.

Its nice we can sort of click together the community and still get all those social expiriences we were originally afraid to miss out on. ☆

Best wishes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75