Diving deeper into homeschooling

in #homeschooling6 years ago

A long time ago, 11 months actually, I shared about our homeschooling or rather life schooling journey and our decision to homeschool our then almost-two-year-old. He's now almost three and I thought I would give you an update.
annie-spratt-548190-unsplash.jpg
Source

11 months ago...

I had this to say about our approach:

We already sing the alphabet song almost daily, we read books, sing songs, read rhymes aloud, count just about everything we come across and talk about colours and shapes. We have no expectation of when he needs to have learned what, we simply desire to tap into his curiosity and love of books.

We still do all those things. He knows his primary colours by now and counts to 20. He knows some shapes, they haven't interested him and we don't push things.

Moving forward

During our time in Carla this summer two things became obvious. Our son has now taken a real interest in numbers and he wants to read on his own.

He is counting objects and on this fingers. He can say how many fingers you are holding up without counting them. I'm a little stunned by all he can do. With a lot of public school teachers in our family, some serving in underprivileged schools, we hear stories of what children can and can't do at various levels. I've caught some of the teachers in 'testing' our son to find his limits. They always do it in a playful and loving way, he thinks they are playing a game with him and he has no idea they are testing him, but I see right through it.

Last night and this morning, a couple of things happened that made my husband and I recommit to our homeschooling journey for lack of a better word.

Last night, I discovered that our son knows basic subtraction. I said I would read 5 (short) books for him before bed. Always the optimist, he brought 7 and told me so. I told him the deal was 5. When we had read three books, I asked how many do we have left if we agreed on reading 5 and we've read 3? 2, was his prompt answer. There was no counting involved - he just knew that the answer was 2. We've been counting obsessively lately and exploring numbers in all kinds of ways. We haven't focussed on the written numbers but just on counting out loud and counting objects, which seems to be where his passion is leading him at the moment. When we return home, I will be looking for a few numbers to add as visual and tactile learning tools.

Then this morning, our son brought up the subject of school and when he would get to go. He has been asking us a lot lately and we have just answered: "When you turn 6". Today we asked him why he was so excited to go to school? The answer surprised us. "Because I get to learn how to read!"

We then had a chat with him about there being no need to wait until school starts to learn to read, he could do that right now and we would love to help him!

Learning to read

Remember that statement from 11 months ago, that we don't care when our son can do what, we just want to tap into his curiosity and support him as best we can!

I have a few ideas I want to try with our son. Like allowing him to type small texts on our computers. We already play read i.e. I read a few words and then he 'reads' (from memory) the rest of the text. If you have any more ideas on how we can support him on this learning journey I would love to hear them. Especially if you have used the Bible in some way. I'm always looking for ways to incorporate

If his fancy takes him elsewhere, we will abandon reading and follow it right along with him. But as he has gotten older, his requests for books have only increased and they are getting longer and much more involved. I would be lying if I said it wouldn't be a relief to have him reading some of them on his own.

How have you taught your children to read? How did you learn to read?

Sort:  

I will be very interested to follow the homeschooling journey with your son.

We homeschooled our children for their early years. I think we should have kept going longer.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Thank you :)
In many ways, I wish we could keep homeschooling our son. I do feel like there's something to be gained in a classroom education as well though, and I'm very torn on the subject. It's not feasible to homeschool him fully at the moment, but we never know what might happen down the road. :)

I was homeschooled from ABC to graduation. when I was 3 or 4, my parents got an interactive phonics program for computer. We had a Texas Instruments Keyboard that recieved clumsy plastic cartridges about the size of 8-track tapes. I also remember alphabet and phonics tapes where every letter was a different song. Ithink Sandi Patti made one with songs about bible verses. By the time I was 5 I could read from the King James Bible. I believe that the only way I could lose the scriptures in my mind would be to lose the English language- that is how deeply ingrained in the hardwiring of my brain it is. My mother played Keith Green's music all the time when she was pregnant with me, and after I was born I would get excited when I heard his version of the 23rd Psalm. So she believes that I recognized the song from when I was in the womb! that would mean I heard scripture being sung and read since I was a zygote. Music has a way of making words unforgettable to me.

I wasted most of my 20's in rebellion, drugs, etc. and I credit the scripture etched in my soul with saving my life and bringing me back to the fold of the Good Shepherd. I have a 2 year old now who I read to every day. He has one book that introduces attributes of God for every letter of the alphabet.

Praise the Most High you found your way back!

I will have to see if there are any such Bible verse songs in our language, I don't know any. Plenty of song on stories and such, but not any of actual verses.

What is your language?

Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons is a book you can buy online. I home school my children but never got a chance to try this book out because they could already read by the time I heard of it. It was recommended by a Mennonite woman here in Alaska who swears after the 100th lesson your child can read great. Her children can all read before kindergarten. I wanna have another baby just so I can try this one out! ;)

HAHA, I know the feeling of having another baby so I can try something ;)

I've heard so much praise for this book, but we are Danish, and I'm not sure how well it would translate. You are probably not the right person to ask since you haven't used it :) If anyone else knows please chime in!

I think homeschooling is a powerful tool for parents to sow into their children. There is alot of homeschool talk on discord.

This would be a great post for the tag #ghsc! A wonderful, growing homestead community.


Global Homestead Collective Come join us on discord! https://discord.gg/KCYH4JX7


Congratulations! Your post has been recommended by @freedomtowrite to be the Global Homestead Collective's promoted post of the day. We invite you to use our tag #ghsc! Come join us on discord!

https://steemit.com/ghsc/@ghscollective/today-s-promoted-post-frugallady

Oh, how kind and exciting! I will check you out on discord for sure.

I'm in that group and enjoyed it so far!

Yay. Always nice with a familiar 'face' :)

I probably check in at least once a day....you can find me by searching for simms50#8151

Not sure how I learned to read...parents probably helped some but I did go to public school so I'm sure I learned some there!

Me too. I think I learned from school mostly. We learned the alphabet, how to clap syllables and read 'easy' words. We have 120 common words in our language that most classrooms focus on.

When learning is enjoyable they can progress at such a rapid rate. I'm pretty sure you and your son will find your way with reading. I believe the best way for each child is different and the teacher and child can guide each other on the way.

I noticed a lot of children seem to enjoy the textural approach to writing and forming letters. Writing in sand or with water when outside. Tracing letters with their finger, moulding them from clay etc.

Yes! the textual approach is such a good idea. We are far from the fine motor skills it takes to actually write letters, but we have been tracing them every time we read the letter books. I think we have to write more in sand etc.

I’ve taught all my kiddos to read. We don’t do sight words, but actual phonics. My 5 yo loves to use a magnadoodle, or I put rice in a pan for her and she draws things with her fingers. Having him color a picture every day really develops fine motor skills. You are more than capable of teaching him to read. Mine are 4th, 2nd, and kindergarten. It’s seems so scary at first. But I promise you will never regret it.

Thank you for the encouragement. Should he just free colour or should I give him pictures to colour already? He likes drawing and playing with water colours.

If he’s 2, any kind of coloring! About 3-4 years old, pictures.

Got it, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60719.63
ETH 2911.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59