Combining water play and chores for a fun children's group activity!

in #homeschooling6 years ago (edited)

20180606_190148.jpg


On a hot sunny day, what better way to combine practicality and fun by getting the kids to clean my car? As funny (or mean :P) as it may seem, the kids LOVE water play, and the few times I've cleaned the car with the kids as a family activity, it's always ended up being so much fun.

We've always had a fairly Montessori approach at home, the kids are an active member of our family team in helping to (or learning to) clean and tidy up.

In fact, you will sometimes find my 6 year old standing on a chair and doing the dishes unprompted (and they actually come out clean too!). My 3 year old loves to vacuum and "clean" the windows.

Washing the car seemed like a great activity to do on a hot sunny day, the little ones (and their friends) were all definitely happy and eager to foam up the car.

Was the car perfectly cleaned? No. But having a fun and practical water play activity, that engaged 6 children for more than an hour, whilst they learnt about the importance of team work and I'm sure a good few other valuable life lessons, is a definite win in my book.

Just another reason we love our homeschooling/unschooling life. Thanks for reading :)


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

@redrica How I can not be your fan...? Wow we never talked about Montessori education System. I LOVE IT!
That's why I am how I am, cuz.. I did not have it. RAYOS..... : (

D.jpg

Haha considering we've only known each other for a few months, there's plenty we haven't had a chance to talk about! Either way, you turned out pretty good :)

Cleaning thr car was one of the few tasks my kids were eager to join in with @redrica.

Never had the friends around to help though. Sounds fun! 😁

Sadly I can't get the photograph to load so I can't see them in action! 😢

Aww still something you can do with the grandkids I hope? :) The pic's just a collage of the soap action, hope it's working now!

Ah yes. The photograph is showing now @redrica. Very sweet!

It will be another year before we can enlist the grandkids I would think but that's a great idea! 😁

I'm sure it'll be worth the wait :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99