Daddykirbs Cool Curators Contest Entry - @BeyondOrdinary

in #homestead6 years ago (edited)

Growing Figs in New York

Now I live in the part of New York State where the winters are long and cold, climate zone 5B.

So why do I want to grow figs?

You already know the answer to that if you have ever tasted a sweet, sun-warmed, tree ripened fig. If you haven’t, I hope this inspires you to give it a try.

Currently, I have two varieties that reliably produce figs for me, Brown Turkey and Chicago. I want to increase the number of plants for my garden and have a few plants to give to gardening friends.

I’ve been doing a bit of research on the best way to propagate cutting from my fig trees.

Here’s a video by @daddykirbs that shows the method he uses to start new fig trees. I’m going to try it.

Watch for updates as the gardening season progresses.

@steemithomestead @crowbarmama @gardengirlcanada @lostmymarbles #the-hearth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67723.65
ETH 3810.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50